» Cricket » Ganguly named in Bengal squad

Ganguly named in Bengal squad

Source: PTI
August 30, 2006 13:30 IST

Wicketkeeper-batsman Deep Dasgupta has been named skipper of the 15-member Bengal cricket squad for the Moin-ud-Dowla Gold Cup in Hyderabad.

The squad includes former India captain Sourav Ganguly.

The team, which would leave for Hyderabad on Sunday, was picked by the four-member selection committee which includes former national selector Pranab Roy.

Ganguly, who is trying to get back into the Indian team and had earlier expressed his desire to play for the state side, would be joining the team on Monday in Hyderabad, CAB sources said.

The left-hander had been offered the captaincy but he preferred to play under Dasgupta who led Bengal to the Ranji Trophy final last season.

The team includes Rohan Gavaskar and left-arm spinner Amit Banerjee is the only new face in the squad.

Bengal would open its campaign against Wasim Jafar-led Mumbai on September 6.

Squad: Deep Dasgupta (captain), Sourav Ganguly, Arindam Das, Rohan Gavaskar, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Manoj Tewari, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Sourashis Lahiri, Shib Shankar Paul, Ranadeb Bose, Sanjib Sanyal, Kamal Hasan Mondal, Subhojit Pal, Ashok Dinda, Amit Banerjee.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.