» Cricket » Stats: Ashwin has recorded his best performance in an innings

Stats: Ashwin has recorded his best performance in an innings

Source: PTI
August 25, 2012 20:31 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Statistical highlights on the third day of the opening cricket Test played between India and New Zealand at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Saturday.

# Ravichandran Ashwin's magnificent bowling performance is the best recorded at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, obliterating Daniel Vettori's 5 for 135 in 2010-11.

# Ashwin (6/31) has registered his best bowling performance in an innings in Tests, surpassing the 6 for 47 against the West Indies at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi in November 2011. His figures are also his best in first-class cricket.

R Ashwin# Ashwin's economy rate of 1.87 is also his best in a Test innings.

# Ashwin has bagged five wickets or more in an innings thrice -- twice against the West Indies and once against New Zealand.

# Ashwin's bowling figures are the fourth best in an innings for India against New Zealand in Tests. Srinivas Venkataraghavan holds an Indian bowling record against New Zealand, having taken 8 for 72 in Delhi in 1964-65. He is followed by Erapalli Prasanna's eight for 76 at Auckland in 1975-76 and Subhash Gupte's seven for 28 at Fateh Maidan, Hyderabad in 1955-56.

# New Zealand's 159 is the first total of less than 200 at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

# New Zealand's follow-on against India in Uppal is their fourth in Tests -- the three prior occasions were recorded in the same Test series in 1955-56. India had won two Tests out of three when they had enforced follow-on against New Zealand.

# James Franklin (43 not out) has top-scored in New Zealand's innings of 159.

# Chris Martin, with his 34th duck in Tests, has extended his unwanted record for New Zealand. Courtney Walsh (43) and Glenn McGrath (35) are the only two batsmen with more ducks than Martin.

Photograph: Vivek Prakash/Reuters

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020