» Cricket » Australia name women's squad for India tour

Australia name women's squad for India tour

Last updated on: January 29, 2007 21:22 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Australia's National Selection Panel on Monday announced a 14-player Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars squad for the four nation one-day international tournament in India next month.





The squad is:

Player Age State Player style ODI caps
Karen Rolton (captain) 32 South Australia LHB, LM 101
Lisa Sthalekar (vice captain) 27 New South Wales RHB, OB 54
Sarah Andrews 25 New South Wales RM 6
Alex Blackwell 23 New South Wales RHB, RM 31
Kate Blackwell 23 New South Wales RHB, RM 20
Melissa Bulow 26 Queensland RHB 9
Sarah Edwards 25 Victoria RHB, LB 2
Cathryn Fitzpatrick 38 Victoria RF 102
Shelley Nitschke 30 South Australia LHB, SLA 25
Kirsten Pike 22 Queensland RMF 7
Leah Poulton 22 New South Wales RHB 5
Jodie Purves 22 Queensland RHB, WKT 8
Emma Sampson 21 South Australia LHB, RMF 0
Clea Smith 28 Victoria RM 33

Two changes to the squad that successfully defended the Rose Bowl trophy against New Zealand in October last year sees Alex Blackwell and Emma Sampson come in for Michelle Goszko and Julie Hayes.

Blackwell returns from injury and after a solid 2006-07 domestic season for New South Wales (137 runs at an average of 34.35) while the uncapped Sampson has been called into the Australian team for the first time.

The 21-year-old medium pace bowler took 10 wickets in eight games for South Australia this season at an average of 24.10.

"I was very excited to get the call from the selectors and I'm really looking forward to the opportunity to play for Australia," said Sampson.

Originally selected in the Commonwealth Bank Shooting Stars team to play New Zealand in February, Sampson's elevation into the senior squad paves the way for Victorian leg-spinner Jessica Cameron, 17, to join the Shooting Stars squad.

Australia will take on hosts India, England and New Zealand in the four nation tournament in Chennai beginning with its first match on February 21.

Australia's schedule for the tournament (as at January 29) is:

Wednesday February 21 Australia v New Zealand Chennai
Friday February 23 Australia v India Chennai
Sunday February 25 Australia v England Chennai
Wednesday February 28 Australia v New Zealand Chennai
Thursday March 1 Australia v England Chennai
Saturday March 3 Australia v India Chennai
Monday March 5 Final Chennai

Player style key: RHB - right-hand bat, LHB - left-hand bat, WKT - wicket-keeper, SLA - slow left-arm orthodox spinner, OB - right arm off-spinner, LB - right arm leg break, RM - right arm medium, RMF - right arm medium fast, RF - right arm fast, LM - left arm medium.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

IPL 2020

IPL 2020