» Cricket » Indian eves beat NZ for the fourth time

Indian eves beat NZ for the fourth time

Source: PTI
December 13, 2003 20:33 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Indian eves inflicted a four wicket defeat on World Champions New Zealand in the fourth one day cricket match at the Lal Bahadur stadium at Hyderabad on Saturday.

Electing to field, Indians restricted the visitors to 213 and then notched up 216 for the loss of six wickets to lead the five match series 4-0.

Jaya Sharma and Anjum Chopra put the home side on course adding 73 runs for the second wicket. Jaya dominated the bowlers with her deft placements before she was dismissed by Anna Corbin. Her 51 came off 95 balls with five hits to the fence.

Anjum was joined by local lass Mithali Raj who hit a breezy 46 off just 39 balls, laced with six fours, and added 72 runs for the third wicket. Mithali perished to a lofted shot and Anjum soon joined her in the pavilion after making 59 with six fours.

Though India lost three quick wickets, they were well on their way and Hemalatha Kala snicked a boundary through third man to score the winning runs.

Earlier, New Zealand made 213 riding on a blazing knock of 91 by Maria Fahey and her 82-run partnership for the third wicket with Haidee Tiffen (31). Spinner Mamta Kanojia claimed 3 for 48.


New Zealand
Kate Pulford c Amita Sharma b M Kanojia       35
Maria Fahey c Deepa b M Kanojia               91
Maia Lewis c Nooshin b M Kanojia               7
Haidee Tiffen lbw b Deepa                     31
Sara Micglashan b Jhulan                       8
Aimee Mason not out                           16
Nicola Browne not out                          8

Extras (B-4, LB-2, W-9, NB-2)                 17
Total (for five wickets in 50 overs)         213
Fall of Wickets: 1-73, 2-80, 3-162, 4-187, 5-190
Bowling: Amita Sharma 10-0-53-0, Jhulan Goswami
10-0-39-1, Nooshin Ali Khadeer 10-0-42-0, Deepa Kulkarni
10-2-25-1, Mamtha Kanojia 10-0-48-3.

Anju Jain run out                           12
Jaya Sharma b Anna Corbin                   51
Anjum Chopra c Milliken b A Mason           59
Mithali Raj c Mason b R Steele              46
Hemlata Kala not out                        16
Mamtha Maben c Sara b Milliken               7
Mamtha Kanojia c Milliken b A Mason          1
Deepa Kulkarni not out                       2

Extras (LB-1, W-19, NB-2)                   22
Total (for 6 in 49.2 overs)                216
Fall of Wickets: 1-37, 2-110, 3-182, 4-200, 5-209, 6-216.
Bowling: Rebecca Steele 10-2-41-2, Louise Milliken
9.2-1-30-1. Aimee Mason 9-0-40-2, Amanda Green 6-0-30-0,
Nicola Browne 5-0-22-0, Anna Corbin 7-0-36-1, Kate Pulford

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Tokyo Olympics

. Tokyo Olympics
. India's tour of England