Rediff.com  » Cricket » IPL 2020 schedule out, MI to face CSK in season-opener

IPL 2020 schedule out, MI to face CSK in season-opener

Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Laxmi Negi
Last updated on: September 06, 2020 21:01 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

IPL

Photograph: Kind courtesy BCCI

Ending days of anxious wait, the Board of Control for Cricket in India, on Sunday, released the schedule for the upcoming Indian Premier League, and in keeping with tradition, defending champions Mumbai Indians will take on runners-up Chennai Super Kings in the opener in Abu Dhabi on September 19.

 

Moved out of India due to a surge in COVID-19 cases, the upcoming edition of the world's biggest T20 league will be held in the three venues of Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah in the UAE.

After the tournament-opener in the capital city, Dubai will host its first game the next day when Delhi Capitals take on Kings XI Punjab followed by the third match on Monday between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

The action will then shift to Sharjah on September 22 when Rajasthan Royals will host Chennai Super Kings.

There will be 10 double headers, with the first match starting at 3:30pm IST and the second 7:30pm, according to a BCCI release.

In all, 24 matches will be held in Dubai, 20 in Abu Dhabi and 12 in Sharjah.

Venues for the playoffs and the IPL 2020 final will be announced later. The final is slated for November 10.

The upcoming 53-day edition is by far the longest in the history of the league.

The schedule was expected to be out in the last week of August but the announcement was delayed after 13 personnel of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) camp tested positive for the dreaded virus.

Also, due to different quarantine rules in Dubai and Abu Dhabi, IPL's operations team took time to finalise the schedule.

As per IPL rules, the defending champions and the last year's runner-up face off in the tournament opener. The same is going to happen this year after concerns over Chennai Super Kings' readiness were erased with their first practice session in Dubai on Friday.

CSK were the last franchise to hit the nets after clearing final rounds of COVID-19 testing.

Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni and all other CSK players, except for the COVID-19 afflicted duo of Deepak Chahar and Ruturaj Gaikwad, started training on Friday.

With Deepak and Ruturaj testing positive last week along with 11 members of the CSK contingent, the team was forced to delay its training plan after completing the six-day quarantine, including three tests, upon arrival on August 21.

The virus free players had to undergo three additional tests before beginning their training on Friday. The infected players are in 14-day quarantine.

This year's IPL was originally scheduled to be held from March 29 to May 24 but was postponed barely two weeks before the start of the tournament due to the coronavirus outbreak.

Then, as the number of cases increased, the league was indefinitely postponed but the postponement of the T20 World Cup cleared the decks for the league to take place in the September-November window.

Schedule: Indian Premier League 2020

Match No.DayDateISTUAEVenueHomeAway
Group stages:
1 Sat 19-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Mumbai Indians CSK
2 Sun 20-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Delhi Capitals Kings XI Punjab
3 Mon 21-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Hyderabad RCB
4 Tue 22-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Rajasthan Royals CSK
5 Wed 23-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi KKR Mumbai Indians
6 Thu 24-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Kings XI Punjab RCB
7 Fri 25-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai CSK Delhi Capitals
8 Sat 26-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi KKR Hyderabad
9 Sun 27-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Rajasthan Royals Kings XI Punjab
10 Mon 28-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai RCB Mumbai Indians
11 Tue 29-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Delhi Capitals Hyderabad
12 Wed 30-Sep-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Rajasthan Royals KKR
13 Thu 1-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Kings XI Punjab Mumbai Indians
14 Fri 2-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai CSK Hyderabad
15 Sat 3-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Abu Dhabi RCB Rajasthan Royals
16 Sat 3-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Delhi Capitals KKR
17 Sun 4-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Sharjah Mumbai Indians Hyderabad
18 Sun 4-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Kings XI Punjab CSK
19 Mon 5-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai RCB Delhi Capitals
20 Tue 6-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Mumbai Indians Rajasthan Royals
21 Wed 7-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi KKR CSK
22 Thu 8-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Hyderabad Kings XI Punjab
23 Fri 9-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Rajasthan Royals Delhi Capitals
24 Sat 10-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Abu Dhabi Kings XI Punjab KKR
25 Sat 10-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai CSK RCB
26 Sun 11-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Dubai Hyderabad Rajasthan Royals
27 Sun 11-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals
28 Mon 12-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah RCB KKR
29 Tue 13-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Hyderabad CSK
30 Wed 14-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Delhi Capitals Rajasthan Royals
31 Thu 15-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah RCB Kings XI Punjab
32 Fri 16-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Mumbai Indians KKR
33 Sat 17-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Dubai Rajasthan Royals RCB
34 Sat 17-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Delhi Capitals CSK
35 Sun 18-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Abu Dhabi Hyderabad KKR
36 Sun 18-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Mumbai Indians Kings XI Punjab
37 Mon 19-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi CSK Rajasthan Royals
38 Tue 20-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Kings XI Punjab Delhi Capitals
39 Wed 21-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi KKR RCB
40 Thu 22-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Rajasthan Royals Hyderabad
41 Fri 23-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah CSK Mumbai Indians
42 Sat 24-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Abu Dhabi KKR Delhi Capitals
43 Sat 24-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Kings XI Punjab Hyderabad
44 Sun 25-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Dubai RCB CSK
45 Sun 25-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Rajasthan Royals Mumbai Indians
46 Mon 26-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah KKR Kings XI Punjab
47 Tue 27-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai Hyderabad Delhi Capitals
48 Wed 28-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Mumbai Indians RCB
49 Thu 29-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai CSK KKR
50 Fri 30-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Kings XI Punjab Rajasthan Royals
51 Sat 31-Oct-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Dubai Delhi Capitals Mumbai Indians
52 Sat 31-Oct-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah RCB Hyderabad
53 Sun 1-Nov-20 3:30PM 2:00PM Abu Dhabi CSK Kings XI Punjab
54 Sun 1-Nov-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Dubai KKR Rajasthan Royals
55 Mon 2-Nov-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Abu Dhabi Delhi Capitals RCB
56 Tue 3-Nov-20 7:30PM 6:00PM Sharjah Hyderabad Mumbai Indians

*CSK: Chennai Super Kings, RCB: Royal Challengers Bangalore, KKR: Kolkata Knight Riders, Hyderabad: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Laxmi Negi© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
SHARE THIS STORYCOMMENT