rediff.com

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 

Doon Valley

Rediff.com  »  News  »   Doon Valley

  News for Doon Valley

  • News
  • Business
  • Movies

'Our culture does not take life, but promotes it'

'The tiger is the epitome of evolution.''Every tiger has a stripe pattern that is unique. Each tiger is unique.''Tigers are very elusive. It is said a tiger sees you nine times when you see it......

Danger in the hills

Extensive anthropogenic interference, as part of developmental activities, is a significant factor that increases this hazard manifold. As a result, the landscape in the Himalayan, north-eastern......

Study says Bengaluru water has radioactive gas

Radon is a carcinogenic gas and therefore is hazardous to inhale this element since it emits alpha particles. Radon in water may therefore present dual pathways of exposure for individuals --......

The disconnect between urban and rural schools

We have all seen the spectacle put up by the television networks put out when Aakriti Bhatia, a 17-year old girl student of Delhi's Modern School died some two weeks ago. The sadness of the death......

Vikram Seth returns to San Francisco

Vikram Seth was in San Francisco in early November as a part of his hectic book promotion tour for Two Lives. Fans of Seth, and I certainly count myself as one, would have followed rediff's......

Doon Valley battle-gear shines in Hollywood

Relaxing on a cozy sofa at their "Khukhri" factory on the outskirts of Dehra Dun, the capital of Uttarakhand, Sudhir Windlass and his son Ranit chat about Iron Man, the Hollywood film that the two......

Coke's Dehradun plan fizzes over green fears

Chharba-Langha Road, 30 km from Dehradun city, is a green industrial belt. This patch on the western fringes of the Doon Valley is also known for its lush green khair and sheesham trees. In many......

Despite downturn, Doon auto bulb industry thrives

For GBPL Industries, which produces auto bulbs in Dehra Dun, the recession seems good news. GBPL registered a 25 per cent growth this financial year despite the slowdown in economy and auto sector......

Proud father to gift five-star hotel to Abhinav

For the 50-odd employees of the Bindra Farm here, there is a special reason to rejoice the Olympic gold medal victory of ace shooter Abhinav Bindra.Tucked away in the Doon Valley, the 9-acre......

Want to beat the Mumbai heat? Go to Lonavala

Want to give the oppressive summer heat the skip? Want to holiday in the hills? Want to go somewhere nice and peaceful? How will you choose the right travel destination? How can you make your......

Aran is worth a watch

Director Major Ravi who has had first hand experience in commando operations in Jammu and Kashmir directs a feature film for the first time -- Aran in Tamil and Keerthichakra in Malayalam.......
  Videos for Doon Valley
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
doon valley video
  Web results for Doon Valley
6 weekend getaways for the summer

A road trip in the scorching summer heat may not sound like a winning proposition to most, but we were convinced to give it a try when the... ...

http://m.hindustantimes.com/travel/all-roads-lead-to-uttarakhand-6-weekend-getaways-for-the-summer/story-bICzmfY9Z0VwuQXXIkLy8L.html
Kolkata violinist performs to raise money for ailing wife

Swapan Sett, a violinist from Kolkata, at a restaurant in Mussoorie on Saturday. Tribune photo Tribune News Service Mussoorie, May 21 Swapan... ...

http://www.tribuneindia.com/news/uttarakhand/kolkata-violinist-performs-to-raise-money-for-ailing-wife/240148.html
6 books by Ruskin Bond that will have you dreaming of the hills

He has made us laugh, cry and shiver in fright. He has taken us up the hills, down the valleys and into lovely wooded forests. Here are six books... ...

http://www.cntraveller.in/story/6-books-by-ruskin-bond-that-will-have-you-dreaming-of-the-hills/
Ruskin Bond treats readers to two new books on 82nd birthday

As India's one of the most loved authors Ruskin Bond turns 82 today, he offers his readers two new books — My Favourite Nature Stories and The... ...

http://m.hindustantimes.com/books/ruskin-bond-treats-readers-to-two-new-books-on-82nd-birthday/story-Bawvq7Tt1RMSadDgy5adGN.html
Ruskin Bond showcases again love for nature in new books

New Delhi, May 18 (PTI) Prolific author Ruskin Bond, a storyteller beloved by children and adults alike, is set to celebrate his 82nd birthday with... ...

http://www.ptinews.com/news/7456409_Ruskin-Bond-showcases-again-love-for-nature-in-new-books.html

Related Tags


  1. gujarat
  2. bjp
  3. india
  4. lok sabha
  5. supreme court
  6. upa
  7. bharatiya janata party
  8. congress
  9. new delhi
  10. united progressive alliance
  11. ahmedabad
  12. sonia gandhi
  13. nda
  14. rahul gandhi
  15. rajnath singh
  16. nitin gadkari
  17. delhi
  18. manmohan singh
  19. bihar
  20. national democratic alliance
  21. jd-u
  22. nitish kumar
  23. rashtriya swayamsevak sangh
  24. uttar pradesh
  25. photo
  26. advani
  27. central bureau of investigation
  28. rss
  29. janata dal-united
  30. ips

Related Pages


doon valley
Doon Valley


0 Followers

doon valley
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley


0 Followers

doon valley
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley...


0 Followers

doon valley
Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (UK...

UK Constituency Main
0 Followers

Top Coverage News


Coming to India and making

Success in manufacturing is not just about being cheap - cheap labour, cheap land, cheap power...
Broswe by: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z