NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » 46 shortlisted for AIFF teams

46 shortlisted for AIFF teams

April 26, 2003 15:25 IST

Twelve members from National Football League champions East Bengal, including young forward Deepak Kumar Mondal and Alvito D'Cunha, have been shortlisted for the senior Indian national football team for the coming season.

Besides Mondal and D'Cunha, other players who feature in the list issued by the All Indian Football Federation in Delhi on Saturday, include star striker Baichung Bhutia and Renedy Singh of Mohun Bagan, I M Vijayan of JCT and Salgaocar's Tomba Singh.

The AIFF released the names of 46 players who will represent the country in senior and under-23 matches in the coming season.

As part of the preparation, the players will be attending a workshop which will asses their medical, physical and psychological fitness, AIFF secretary Alberto Colaco said.

The workshop, to be held from June 9 to 12, will be conducted by Dr Vece Paes, chairman of the AIFF's medical committee, experts from the Sports Authority of India and private hospitals.

The probables: Sameer Naik, Alex Ambrose, W Tomba Singh, Mani Tomba Singh, Jatin Bist, Climax Lawrence, Jules Alberto Dias, Selwyn Fernandes, Abhay Kumar, Mahesh Gawli, Roque Barreto, Noel Wilson, Subhash Chakraborty, Raju Singh, S Venkatesh, Arun Malhotra, S Malsawtlunga, Sangram Mukherjee, Deepak Mondal, Satiesh Kumar, Dipankar Roy, M Suresh, Alvito D'Cunha, Sandip Nandy, R Ghosh Dastidar, Baichung Bhutia, S Sanjib, Lolendro Singh, Sunil Chittri, Renedy Singh, Satish K Bharti, K Ajayan, Vinu Jose, Harpreet Singh, Sukhwinder Singh, Jo Paul Ancheri, I M Vijayan, P Siddique, A Yadav, Debjit Ghosh, N Akhtar, K Jamil, Praveen Kumar, A Biswas, I Ahmed, S R Nabi.


© Copyright 2017 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.