NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Kanimozhi's RS dreams dashed? PMK to boycott polls

Kanimozhi's RS dreams dashed? PMK to boycott polls

June 21, 2013 18:45 IST

Dealing a blow to the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which was banking on its support to ensure the victory of Kanimozhi in Rajya Sabha polls, the Pattali Makkal Katchi on Friday announced it would boycott the June 27 biennial elections to the Upper House from Tamil Nadu.

A resolution to boycott the polls was passed unanimously at the PMK Executive Council meeting in Chennai, a party statement said.

Stating that some "political parties" had approached the party seeking its support, it said the executive members urged that the PMK should be "firm" in its earlier General Council decision -- that it should never ally with Dravidian parties in future polls.

"Points raised during the general council meeting were discussed in detail at today's meeting and a unanimous decision was taken by state and district secretaries that it (RS polls) should be boycotted," the statement said.

The DMK, which has 23 Members of Legislative Assembly in the 234-member assembly as against the required 34, and actor-politician Vijaykanth's Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (22 MLAs) are locked in a fierce battle for the sixth seat in the biennial polls.

The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which has fielded four candidates and Left parties (one) have enough numbers to ensure the victory of their respective contestants. The ruling party is backing Communist Party of India nominee D Raja.

The DMK has bagged the support of Puthiya Tamizhagam and Manitha Neya Makkal Katchi – both have two MLAs each -- while the DMDK has openly approached the Congress for support to its candidate A R Elangovan, aspiring to make his debut to the Upper House of Parliament.

The Congress, which has five MLAs, is yet to announce its stand.

The DMK was expecting PMK’s support for the re-election of Kanimozhi, the prime accused in the 2G spectrum scam and daughter of party chief M Karunanidhi.

PMK has three MLAs -- Kalai Arasu, A Ganeshkumar and 'Kaduvetti' J Guru a.k.a Gurunathan. Guru had been detained under the National Security Act in May after his arrest in connection with the recent Marakanam violence.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.