NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Ganguly named Bengal captain

Ganguly named Bengal captain

November 16, 2006 15:56 IST

Sourav Ganguly will lead a 14-member Bengal team in the Ranji Trophy Elite Group B opener at Mohali from November 23 to 26.

Ganguly, who had stepped down from the Bengal captaincy last year paving the way for Deep Dasgupta to lead the side, would remain in the saddle 'as long as he was available' for Bengal team duties this season, according to CAB joint secretary Saradindu Paul.

Paul denied that there was resentment in the team following CAB's decision to re-install Ganguly as captain.

Team: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Deep Dasgupta (vice-captain), Arindam Das, Subhomoy Das, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Manoj Tiwari, Rohan Gavaskar, Laxmi Ratan Shukla, Shiv Sagar Singh, Ranadeb Bose, Sourasish Lahiri, Ashok Dinda, Ekla Ahmed and Amitava Chakraborty; Coach: Paras Mhambrey; Manager: Samir Dasgupta.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.