Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > Reuters > Report

World Cup format and rules

March 01, 2007 18:06 IST

Format and regulations of the cricket World Cup, starting in the West Indies on March 13.

1st round: The ninth edition of the World Cup will be contested by 16 teams, the most ever. In the first round they are divided into four groups of four teams and play each other once. The top two from each group qualify for the super eight.

Super eight: The winners and runners-up from the four groups will play each of the other teams except the team which advanced from their own group. The top four qualify for the semi-finals.

Semi-finals and final: The second and third place finishers will contest the first semi-final while the teams placed firstand fourth will meet in the second. The winners meet in the final in Barbados on April 28.

Points: Two for a win, one for a tie or a game without result in the preliminary and super eight stages. Teamsqualifying for the Super eight carry forward only the points gained in the group stage against the other qualifier.

Key rules:

If the scores are equal, the match is tied regardless of the number of wickets that have fallen.

Each match comprises two sessions of 3-1/2 hours each with a 45-minute interval.

If the start is delayed or play is suspended, the match can be extended by a maximum 30 minutes.

Key innovations:

Powerplay: Fielding restrictions when only two fielders are allowed outside the 30-metre circle surrounding the wicket withat least two in catching positions will be applied in three blocks totalling 20 overs.

The first powerplay of 10 overs automatically comes into force at the start of an innings. The fielding captain must thennominate two five-over spells when restrictions will apply.

Bowl-out: Cricket's equivalent of soccer's penalty shoot-out if the semi-finals or final end in a tie. Bowlers from opposingteams take turns to bowl at a set of three stumps. The team with the most hits after five deliveries each is the winner.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

© Copyright 2007 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.