NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Manan Chandra reigns

Manan Chandra reigns

September 04, 2005 20:51 IST

Defending champion Manan Chandra of Petroleum Sports Promotion Board retained the men's crown, while Vidya Pillai of Tamil Nadu clinched the inaugural ladies title following contrasting victories, in the BPCL-ONGC National 9-Ball Pool Championship that concluded at the Bombay Presidency Golf Club, in Mumbai on Sunday.

Continuing the devastating form that marked his journey to the championship round, men's top seed Chandra, playing his fourth National Pool final in a
row, swamped unseeded Sandeep Gulati of Delhi 11-5 to help himself to his fourth pool crown.

In a contest between quality players, Gulati ran Chandra close till the half-way stage before the latter broke away for a 7-4 and 10-5 lead to seal victory.

Earlier, in the semi-finals, Chandra ousted Sumeet Talwar of Chandigarh 9-6, while Gulati shocked last year's runner-up and second seed Alok Kumar by the same margin.

Top seed Vidya Pillai crushed Meenal Thakur of Maharashtra 7-1 in a surprisingly one-sided women's final. Both players were in good form right through the competition but Pillai was the more consistent with positioning and potting skills.

Earlier, in the semi-finals, Pillai overcame Chitra Magimairaj of KSBA 5-2, while Thakur ended T.V. Sridevi's winning streak with a 5-3 win.

Men (final): Manan Chandra (PSPB) bt Sandeep Gulati (Delhi) 11-5.
Semi-finals: Manan Chandra (PSPB) bt Sumeet Talwar (Chandigarh) 9-6; Sandeep Gulati (Del) bt Alok Kumar (PSPB) 9-6.

Women (final): Vidya Pillai (Tamil Nadu) bt Meenal Thakur (Maharashtra) 7-1.
Semi-finals: Vidya Pillai (TN) bt Chitra Magimairaj (KSBA) 5-2; Meenal Thakur (Mah) bt T. V. Sridevi (KSBA) 5-3.