» Sports » Eight sportspersons to get Padma Shri honour

Eight sportspersons to get Padma Shri honour

Source: PTI
January 25, 2017 18:50 IST

Rio Olympic medallist Sakshi Malik, Virat Kohli are in the list

Virat Kohli

IMAGE: India captain Virat Kohli.

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli was among the eight sportspersons who have been picked for the prestigious Padma Shri, the country's fourth highest civilian award.

Rio Olympics bronze medallist wrestler Sakshi Malik, Paralympians Mariyappan Thangavelu and Deepa Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Indian hockey captain P R Sreejesh, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekar Naik are the other sportspersons who will be bestowed the honour.

Kohli recently took over as the captain of the Indian cricket team in all the three formats of the game after Mahendra Singh Dhoni stepped down as skipper of the limited-overs side.

Sakshi Malik

IMAGE: Sakshi Malik. Photograph: Lars Baron/Getty Images

Sakshi Malik won a bronze in the women's 58kg wrestling while Thangavelu and Deepa Malik bagged a gold and silver in the men's high jump T-42 and women's shot put F53 categories respectively at the Rio Paralympics.

Dipa Karmakar finished fourth in women's vault gymnastic event in Rio Olympics while Sreejesh was the captain of the Indian hockey side that reached the quarter-finals.

Gowda, the reigning Commonwealth and Asian champion, failed to advance beyond the qualifying round in men's discus throw in Rio.

The eight sportspersons were among 89 Padma Awardees announced by the government on the eve of the Republic Day.

There were no sportspersons in the list of Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan awardees.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.