» Sports » BPCL stun ONGC to lift Aga Khan trophy

BPCL stun ONGC to lift Aga Khan trophy

May 21, 2011 18:11 IST

Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited (BPCL), Bangalore scored a surprise 4-1 win against Oil & Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Delhi in the final of the DCB Presents Aga Khan hockey tournament -- 2011, at the Bombay Gymkhana ground, on Saturday evening.

Full back Ajay Saroha converted two penalty corners while Ravi Pal Singh and Sher Singh netted a goal each to help BPCL emerge champions. Gurvinder Singh Chandi netted the lone goal for the losers.

The final was a low key affair as players from both the teams just seemed go through the paces and hardly showed much urgency in their approach towards the rival goal initially. ONGC with a couple of current Indian players in their ranks played well below par and did nothing much to trouble their opponents.

BPCL lift Aga Khan trophyBPCL drew first blood in the 18th minute when Ravi Pal Singh was bang on target after picking up Hari Prasad's forward pass. Sher Singh doubled the lead s he did well to tap home Amir Khan's center from the right in the 31st minute to give BPCL a 2-0 half-time cushion.

ONGC had their share of chance to find the net, but international Chandi missed twice on either side of the lemon break.

BPCL knocked the fight out of ONGC by adding two more goals through their full back Ajay Saroha who converted two penalty corners in the 46th and 63rd minutes.

Fighting a losing battle, ONGC managed to score a late consolation goal through Chandi in the 67th minute.

The winners were richer by Rs 2.5 lakhs, while the runners-up received Rs 1.5 lakhs.

BPCL's Saroha was adjudged the man-of-the-match, while Bikash Toppo of ONGC was declared player of the tournament.