» Sports » Ghosal, Suchde set up title showdown

Ghosal, Suchde set up title showdown

November 20, 2012 20:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Top seed Sourav Ghosal and defending champion and second seed Siddharth Suchde scored impressive victories to set up a mouth-watering men's final, in the 37th Bombay Gymkhana Maharashtra State Open Senior Squash Championship on Tuesday.

Ghosal and Suchde won their semi-finals in straight sets, beating Rishad Pandole of CCI and Vikas Jangra of Navy respectively.  

Earlier, in the quarter-finals, Ghosal endured a stiff challenge from Delhi's Ashray Ohri, who forced the third set into extra points after two tight opening sets.

SOurav GhosalTop seed Joshna Chinappa and second seed Urwashi Joshi also registered comfortable wins to enter the women's final.

Under-19 junior national semi-finalist and under-19 junior Maharashtra State Open winner Urwashi Joshi of Jindal Squash Academy eased past under-15 National champion Jui Kalgutkar of Bombay Gymkhana in straight sets to set up the title clash with Chinappa, who overcame a gritty Aishwarya Bhattacharya 11-8, 11-4, 12-10 in an exciting second semi-final.

Top seed Sanjay Pawar of Otters Club and second seed Sachin Jadhav of Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana will contest the Professionals final. 


Women (semi-finals): 2-Urwashi Joshi (Jindal) bt Jui Kalgutkar (Bombay Gym) 11-4, 11-6, 11-3; 1-Joshna Chinappa (TN) bt Aishwarya Bhattacharya (Bombay Gym) 11-8, 11-4, 12-10.

Quarter-finals: Aishwarya Bhattacharya (Bombay Gym) bt 3-Shivangi Paranjpe (Bombay Gym) 11-6, 11-7, 15-13; Jui Kalgutkar (Bombay Gym) bt 4-Madhura Paranjpe (Bombay Gym) 11-4, 11-8, 11-2; 1-Joshna Chinappa (TN) bt Riddhi Sampat (Bombay Gym) 11-4, 11-7, 11-5.

 Men's Open (semi-finals): 1-Sourav Ghosal bt Rishad Pandole (CCI) 11-6, 11-6, 11-8; 2-Siddharth Suchde bt Vikas Jangra (Services) 11-2, 11-6, 11-6.

Quarter-finals: Vikas Jangra (Services) bt Arjun Agnihotri 11-4, 11-4, 11-6; Rishad Pandole (CCI) bt Abhinav Sinha 11-7, 11-3, 11-4; 2-Siddharth Suchde bt Aishwarya Singh (Jindal) 11-4, 11-4, 11-3; 1-Sourav Ghosal bt Ashray Ohri (Delhi) 11-6, 11-8, 12-10.

 Professionals (semi-finals): 2-Sachin Jadhav (JVPG) bt Baban More (Bombay Gym) 14-12, 10-12, 11-7, 11-4; 1-Sanjay Pawar (Otters Club) bt Manish Chavan (Bombay Gym) 12-10, 11-9, 11-5.

 Quarter-finals: Sachin Jadhav (JVPG) bt Dashrath Tambe (Willingdon SC) 11-5, 11-6, 11-7; Sanjay Pawar (Otters Club) bt Vijay Sonawane (SPA) 11-5, 11-7, 11-6; Manish Chavan (Bombay Gym) bt Deepesh Borade (Khar Gym) 11-8, 13-11, 11-8; Baban More (Bombay Gym) bt Vijay Waghela (Khar Gym) 11-6, 13-15, 11-7, 8-11, 11-8.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021