» News » UP top cop Javeed Ahmed shunted out in major reshuffle by Adityanath

UP top cop Javeed Ahmed shunted out in major reshuffle by Adityanath

Source: PTI
Last updated on: April 22, 2017 01:02 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Uttar Pradesh Director General of Police Javeed Ahmed was on Friday shunted to a less important post by the Yogi Adityanath government, which transferred 12 IPS officers in the first big reshuffle in the top police hierarchy.

1980-batch IPS officer Sulkan Singh, who was DG-Training, will replace Ahmed, a 1984-batch IPS officer, who has been shifted as the DG of Uttar Pradesh Provincial Armed Constabulary, a senior home department official said.

Singh is likely to have a brief stint as the state police head as his superannuation is due in September.

Additional Director General-Law and Order Daljit Singh Chowdhury and Additional Director General-Economic Offence Wing and Logistics Aditya Mishra have swapped places in the transfer which came a month after Yogi Adtiyanath assumed office.

The chief minister has not minced words in sending out a strong message that law and order was his government's top priority and any laxity in this regard would not be tolerated.

During the recent assembly polls, the Bharatiya Janata Party had petitioned the Election Commission to remove Ahmed, alleging that he was working at the behest of the then Samajwadi Party government.

DG-Intelligence Jawahar Lal Tripathi has been made DG-Prosecution and DG-Homeguards Alok Prasad has been given additional charge of Training.

Surya Kumar has been relieved from post of DG-Prosecution and will continue as DG police recruitment and promotion board.

ADG security Bhavesh Kumar Singh has been made ADG Intelligence, ADG Police Training School Sitapur Vijay Kumar has been made ADG Security while Alok Singh, who was on wait list has been made IG PAC eastern zone. IG Sanjay Singhal has been made IG PAC central zone.

IG Women Powerline Navneet Sikera has been relieved from the charge of PAC central zone but will continue on other posts.

Earlier in the day, the state government transferred seven IAS officers including some divisional commissioners.

Principal Secretary, Science and Technology, Himanshu Kumar, who was transferred as Divisional Commissioner Devipatan division will remain on his post, while CEO, UP Rural Road Development Authority, SVS Rangarao will be new Divisional Commissioner of Devipatan division.

Among others transferred included DM Jhansi Ajay Kumar Shukla, who will be Divisional Commissioner Chitrakoot division, and Secretary Khadi Anurag Yadav, who has been sent to Institutional Finance Department in the same capacity. 

Noida Metro Rail Corporation MD Santosh Kumar Yadav has been put on waitlist while Investment Commissioner Amit Mohan Prasad has been given Yadav's charge.

The state government had on Tuesday shunted out tainted Vice Chairman of Lucknow Development Authority Satyendra Singh while effecting a major bureaucratic reshuffle involving 44 IAS officers in the second such drill in less than a week.

Singh, who is mired in controversy over alleged corruption in LDA, was put on wait list on the day the Adityanath government completed one month in office.

In its first major bureaucratic reshuffle on April 12, the state government had transferred 20 senior IAS officers shunting out Principal Secretary Information Navneet Sehgal and others who wielded considerable influence under the Akhilesh Yadav dispensation.

Sehgal was stripped of all key charge and replaced by UP cadre IAS officer Avanish Kumar Awasthi, who was relieved by the Centre on Aditaynath's request after he took over the reins of the state on March 19.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.