» News » Two DMK MLAs evicted from TN assembly

Two DMK MLAs evicted from TN assembly

April 03, 2012 18:10 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Two Opposition Dravida Munettra Kazhagam members of Legislative Assembly were evicted from Tamil Nadu Assembly following a heated exchange of words with rival All India Anna Dravida Munetra Kazhagam legislators.

Noisy scenes were witnessed when Revenue minister C Ve Shanmugam made some remarks on an alleged scam during the previous DMK regime which did not go down well with the Opposition members.

Despite Speaker D Jayakumar's repeated pleas, DMK member J Anbazhagan remained standing and was seen shouting at the former, following which he directed the Marshals to evict him.

Later, the finance minister and leader of the House O Panneerselvam alleged that another DMK member S S Sivasankar made some gestures at the Chair and demanded that he be evicted. The Speaker ruled in favour of Panneerselvam and ordered the eviction of Sivasankar.

Other DMK members staged a walkout protesting the eviction.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus