» News » TMC's vote share rises by nearly 5%

TMC's vote share rises by nearly 5%

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck
May 02, 2021 22:56 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s vote share in West Bengal assembly polls dipped by less than two per cent compared to the 2019 general elections while that of the Trinamool Congress jumped by nearly five per cent, according to the data provided by the Election Commission.

IMAGE: TMC supporters celebrate after winning the West Bengal assembly election, in Kolkata. Photograph: ANI Photo

The BJP had bagged 40.7 per cent votes in the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and won 18 out of the total 42 in the state, emerging as a main challenger to the ruling TMC which had got 43.3 percent votes.

As per the latest data available on the Election Commission's website, the BJP got 38.09 per cent votes while TMC which swept the assembly elections polled 47.97 per cent votes.


Similarly in Assam as well, the state where BJP along with its allies got a clear majority, the saffron party's vote share declined by four per cent to 32 per cent from 36 per cent in 2019 assembly polls.

Its main rival Congress's vote share declined by more than five per cent to 29.6 per cent from 35.44 in Lok Sabha polls.

In Tamil Nadu, the Dravida Munnetra Kazagham came to power with a massive majority and its vote share increased by five per cent to nearly 38 per cent from 32.76 in the 2019 general elections.

Its arch-rival All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which faced a drubbing in 2019 elections and won a single Lok Sabha seat, saw a jump in vote share from 18.4 percent to 33.48 percent.

In Kerala, the CPI-M-led Left Democratic Front won the assembly polls bucking the decades-old trend of alternate rule between it and the Congress-led UDF.

The CPI-M got 25.1 per cent votes almost the same as its vote share in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, while that of Congress slumped by almost 13 per cent to 24.8 from 37.46 per cent.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Roshneesh Kmaneck© Copyright 2023 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.