» News » Security of 18 separatists, 155 political persons withdrawn

Security of 18 separatists, 155 political persons withdrawn

Source: PTI
February 20, 2019 23:41 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Jammu and Kashmir administration on Wednesday withdrew security of 18 separatists and 155 political persons, including People's Democratic Party leader Wahid Parra and Indian Administrative Services officer Shah Faesal, officials said.

The security review meeting, which was held in Jammu under the chairmanship of state chief secretary B V R Subrahmanyam, took the decision as it was felt that providing security to these separatist leaders is a 'wastage' of scarce state resources which could be better utilised elsewhere.


Among the leaders whose security has been downgraded and withdrawn are S A S Geelani, Aga Syed Mosvi, Maulvi Abbas Ansari, Yaseen Malik, Saleem Geelani, Shahid ul Islam, Zaffar Akbar Bhat, Nayeem Ahmed Khan, Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Farooq Ahmed Kichloo, Masroor Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Abul Hussain, Abdul Gani Shah and Mohd Musadiq Bhat.

This is in addition to the four separatists whose security was withdrawn on Sunday.

The security of 155 political persons and activists, who did not require the security provided to them based on their threat assessment and their activities, was also withdrawn.

This includes Shah Faesal, the 2010 IAS topper from Jammu and Kashmir who recently resigned from bureaucracy, and PDP leader Wahid Parra, the officials said.

Through this, over 1,000 police personnel and over 100 vehicles are freed to do regular police work, they said.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.