» News » Mega vicotry for JMM-Cong in Jharkhand; CM loses his seat

Mega vicotry for JMM-Cong in Jharkhand; CM loses his seat

Source: PTI
Last updated on: December 24, 2019 01:06 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha-led three-party alliance stormed to power in Jharkhand on Monday, ousting the Bharatiya Janata Party in yet another state in the Hindi heartland after the saffron party's stupendous performance in the Lok Sabha elections, a development that could have profound implications for the country.

IMAGE: Congress workers celebrate after the declaration of Jharkhand assembly election results at state Congress headquarters in Ranchi on Monday. Photograph: ANI Photo

The Raghubar Das government's feat of providing a stable government that lasted a full five-year term in a state where chief ministers changed faster than seasons did not cut ice with the electorate which decided to repose faith in a coalition that fought over seats and broke up five years ago.


Contesting the state assembly elections alone for the first time sans long-standing ally the All Jharkhand Students' Union Party, the ruling BJP bagged 25 seats, five less than the JMM which led the table, clinching 30 in the 81-member House.

Das tendered his resignation and accepted defeat.

IMAGE: JMM working president Hemant Soren, who is set to return as CM for the second time, addresses a press conference in Ranchi, Monday. Photograph: PTI Photo

"I met Governor Droupadi Murmu and submitted my resignation. The governor asked me to be caretaker CM till the new government is formed," he told reporters outside Raj Bhavan.

Das lost his pocket borough of Jamshedpur (East) by over 15,000 votes. Saryu Roy, his suave opponent, a BJP rebel contesting as an Independent, clinched his seat.

Roy, a former state minister, had thrown his hat into the ring after being denied a ticket to contest the adjoining Jamshedpur (West) seat.

The BJP, which had posted a spectacular victory in the Lok Sabha election in the middle of the year, was yet to score a convincing triumph in an assembly election since.

IMAGE: Outgoing Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das comes out after tendering his resignation to Governor Draupadi Murmu in Ranchi, on Monday. Photograph: PTI Photo

In the two assembly elections held after the Lok Sabha polls, the party failed to win a clear majority in Haryana, where it had to ally with Dushyant Chautala's Jannayak Janta Party to cobble together a government.

The BJP emerged as the single largest party in Maharashtra where it fought the polls together with its oldest ally Shiv Sena.

The two together could have easily formed a government which may have lasted for five years, but irreconcilable differences between the two Hindutva parties saw the Shiv Sena do the unthinkable -- align with the Congress and its offshoot Nationalist Congress Party -- and form a government.

The Devendra Fadnavis government of the BJP, propped up by the perceived support from Ajit Pawar, a nephew of NCP boss Sharad Pawar, lasted barely three days.

IMAGE: Sarayu Roy, the giant killer who defeated Das from East Jamshedpur seat, flashes the victory sign. Roy, a former minister in Das government, contested the election as an Independent candidate after the BJP denied poll ticket to him. Photograph: PTI Photo

A recalcitrant Ajit Pawar got spooked by the enormous clout of his uncle, who mustered almost all party MLAs in support of a Shiv Sena governent led by Uddhav Thackeray, and made a meek return home.

In the process, the BJP lost an ally in Shiv Sena.

The poll outcome has endorsed Hemant Soren, the JMM's working president, as not only the inheritor of his father Shibu Soren's legacy as the foremost tribal leader of the state, but also expressly manifested the electorate's backing for an Adivasi at the helm of the state's affairs.

Raghubar Das, despite having steered the state out of the Naxalite menace and providing the most stable government in nearly two decades of Jharkhand's existence, was a backward class leader.

The last two phases of the five-stage polling in Jharkhand were held after the passage of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill and both Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah had made a strong pitch in its support.

IMAGE: JMM workers celebrate party's victory at Shibhu Soren Awass in Ranchi on Monday. Photograph: ANI Photo

However, the state, with a substantial Muslim population, seemed to have rejected the CAA as also the idea of a nation-wide National Register of Citizens (NRC).

A spate of incidents of lynching of Muslims over suspicion of cattle theft is likely to have caused a polarisation of Muslim votes against the current dispensation that went against the BJP.

Moreover, the BJP's failure to carry forward its alliance with Sudesh Mahato's All Jharkhand Students' Union Party also appeared to have cost it dearly.

Mahatos are a sub-caste of OBC Kurmis, which have a significant presence in both Bihar and Jharkhand.

Their alienation had a compounding effect as the Janata Dal-United, the BJP's partner in Bihar's ruling coalition, contested assembly elections in Jharkhand independently.

This might have dented the BJP's OBC vote bank. JD-U supremo Nitish Kumar is a Kurmi by caste. The JD-U failed to open its account.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus