News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay  » News » 8 security personnel suspended for Parl security breach

8 security personnel suspended for Parl security breach

Source: PTI   -  Edited By: Hemant Waje
Last updated on: December 14, 2023 18:29 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Eight Delhi police personnel have been suspended for a major security breach in Parliament when two men jumped into the Lok Sabha chamber on Wednesday, sources said.

IMAGE: Security has been heightened in Parliament after the security breach incident. Photograph: ANI/X

The suspended police personnel were on deputation for Parliament security and tasked with frisking visitors and mediapersons.

The sources identified them as Rampal, Arvind, Vir Das, Ganesh, Anil, Pradeep, Vimitt and Narendra.

"Though they are on deputation for Parliament security, their cadre-controlling authority is the organisation that they represent and not the Lok Sabha Secretariat," a functionary said.


In a major security breach on the anniversary of the 2001 Parliament terror attack on Wednesday, two men -- Sagar Sharma and Manoranjan D -- jumped into the Lok Sabha chamber from the public gallery during the Zero Hour, released a yellow-coloured smoke from canisters and shouted slogans, before being overpowered by the MPs.

The Delhi police personnel are deployed to frisk those entering the Parliament complex as well as the building.

The Central Reserve Police Force is responsible for perimeter security.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI  -  Edited By: Hemant Waje© Copyright 2024 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.