NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Dissension within Bihar BJP over choice of Yadav as opp leader

Dissension within Bihar BJP over choice of Yadav as opp leader

June 19, 2013 14:49 IST

Dissension surfaced within the Bharatiya Janata party over choice of leader of opposition in the Bihar Assembly with a section of legislators protesting selection of Nand Kishore Yadav to the post without discussion with members of Legislative Assembly.

Peeved over the decision of the BJP Parliamentary Board selecting Yadav, national Democratic Alliance convenor in Bihar, as new Leader of Opposition, some BJP legislators including Prem Kumar, Chandra Mohan Rai, Giriraj Singh and Vikram Kuwar did not participate in the BJP Legislature party meeting this morning before start of special session.

Prem Kumar, who was Urban Development minister in the Nitish Kumar government told mediapersons that they boycotted the meeting over selection of Yadav as opposition leader without consulting MLAs.

He said he has conveyed anger of party legislators over the selection to BJP gGeneral secretaries Ananth Kumar and Dharmendra Pradhan who are in-charge of Bihar affairs.

Chandramohan Rai, who was also a minister in the NDA government, confirmed not attending the Legislature party meeting saying "when the leader was already chosen by party leader without taking views of MLAs, what was the point of participating in the meeting?"

Prem Kumar, senior BJP MLA from Gaya, questioned selection of Yadav, "whose closeness with Nitish Kumar is well known."

Showing a vernacular newspaper he told reporters outside the assembly, that while all the markets were closed during Tuesday’s "Vishwasghat divas" and Bihar bandh, Yadav's business establishment was open.

When asked about dissatisfaction among a section of party leaders over his selection, Yadav told PTI that "party has taken a decision and I will perform my duty sincerely."

"Some people whose ambition was dashed due to my selection are not happy," he said without naming anybody.

Party sources said that the BJP parliamentary board has selected Yadav as legislature party leader in assembly and former Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Kumar Modi in the

legislative council.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.