» News » Day 1 of 17th Lok Sabha: PM, members take oath

Day 1 of 17th Lok Sabha: PM, members take oath

Source: PTI
Last updated on: June 17, 2019 19:46 IST

The first session of the 17th Lok Sabha commenced Monday with jubilant Bharatiya Janata Party members raising 'Jai Shri Ram and Bharat Mata ki Jai' slogans as several members, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi took oath.

IMAGE: Congress president and MP from Wayanad Rahul Gandhi during the opening day of the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha at Parliament House in New Delhi. Photograph: Arun Sharma/PTI Photo

As the Leader of the House, Modi was the first to take oath as member of the lower house


Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister and BJP president Amit Shah, Transport and Highways minister Nitin Gadkari were among the prominent members who took oath.

IMAGE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi is greeted by Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshi as he arrives for the first session of 17th Lok Sabha, at Parliament, in New Delhi, on Monday. MoS Parliamentary Affairs, Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises Arjun Ram Meghwal and MoS in the Prime Minister's Office Jitendra Singh are also seen. Photograph: Kamal Singh/PTI Photo

Addressing the media outside parliament before the commencement of Parliament session, Modi reached out to the opposition saying they need not "bother about their numbers" as their every word is "valuable" to the government.

He urged all MPs to be impartial in the House and address issues related to the larger interest of the nation.

IMAGE: BJP MP Poonam Mahajan arrives for the first session of Lok Sabha. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

"When we come to Parliament, we should forget 'paksh' (treasury) and 'vipaksh' (opposition). We should think about issues with a 'nishpaksh' (impartial) spirit and work in the larger interest of the nation," he said,

Besides the Union ministers who were elected to the Lok Sabha, members from 23 states and union territories, including Andra Pradesh, Assam, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Kerala, Jammu and Kashmir and Bihar took oath.

IMAGE: Prime Minister Narendra Modi takes oath as a member of the 17th Lok Sabha. Photograph: LSTV Grab/PTI

The remaining members will take oath on Tuesday.

The Lok Sabha at present has 542 elected members.

Elections to Vellore seat in Tamil Nadu was cancelled as the Election Commission felt excessive monery power was being used to lure voters in that constituency..

A fresh date is yet to be announced.

IMAGE: Union Home Minister and BJP president Amit Shah takes oath. Photograph: LSTV Grab/PTI

BJP MP from Bhopal Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur created a controversy when she suffixed the name of her spiritual guru with hers while taking oath, drawing objections from the Opposition.

Amid protests and shoutings, Thakur said that it was her full name and she had mentioned that she had already mentioned her full name in the form she had filled for oath taking.

IMAGE: BJP MP from Uttar Pradesh's Amethi and Union Minister of Women, Child Development and Textiles Smriti Zubin Irani takes oath as a member of the Lok Sabha. Photograph: LSTV Grab/PTI

Thakur, the Malegaon blast accused, took oath in Sanskrit and ended it with 'Bharat Mata Ki Jai' slogan. Thakur routed Congress stalwart Digvijay Singh to enter
the Lok Sabha for the first time.

Later, BJP members continued to raise 'Bharat Mata Ki Jai' slogans, teasing the Opposition. They started raising slogan after oath taking by every member.

IMAGE: BJP MPs Gopal Jee Thakur, left, and Ashok Kumar Yadav with Minister of State in the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare Ashwini Kumar Choubey, centre, arrive for the session. Photograph: Shahbaz Khan/PTI Photo

When Modi's name was called out by the Secretary General for taking oath, members from the ruling National Democratic Alliance thumped the desk greeting the Prime Minister with slogans such as 'Modi Modi' and "Bharat Mata ki Jai".

While the prime minister and most of Union Ministers took the oath in Hindi, Union Ministers Harsh Vardhan, Sripad Naik, Ashwini Chaubey and Pratap Chandra Sarangi did so in Sanskrit.

IMAGE: Samajwadi Party founder Mulayam Singh Yadav with his son and party president Akhilesh Yadav and MP Azam Khan at Parliament House. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

While D V Sadananda Gowda and Prahlad Joshi took oath in Kannada, Harsimrat Kaur Badal took the oath in Punjabi.

Union Ministers Arvind Ganpat Sawant, Raosaheb Patil Danbe took oath in Marathi, Jitendra Singh in Dogri, Babul Supriyo in English, Rameshwar Teli in Assamese and Debashree Choudhury in Bangla.

IMAGE: Newly-elected East Delhi MP Gautam Gambhir arrives for the session. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

United Progressive Alliance Chairperson Sonia Gandhi, TMC leader Sudip Bandyopadhyay, Samajwadi Party leaders Mulayam Singh Yadav and his son Akhilesh Yadav, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, and Dravida Munnetra Kazagham leaders Kanizmohi and A Raja were present in the House on the occasion.

Before the House met, Virendra Kumar was sworn in as Pro-Tem Speaker by President Ramnath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Several members took oath in their mother tongue, like most of the YSR Congress Party MPs in Telegu. Many members from Assam took oath in Assamese.

IMAGE: Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi arrives at Parliament House. Photograph: Shahbaz Khan/PTI Photo

BJP members from Bihar Gopal jee Thakur and Ashok Kumar Yadav took oath in Maithili.

BJP member from Bihar Jarnardhan Singh Sigriwal expressed desire to take oath in Bhojpuri, but the Lok Sabha Secretary General said the language was not in the eight schedule of the Constitution.

IMAGE: Newly-elected BJP MP and Bollywood actor Sunny Deol arrives for the first session. Photograph: Kamal Kishore/PTI Photo

Amid thumping of desk by Congress members, Rahul Gandhi took the oath in English. He won the election from Wayanad in Kerala.

He had also contested from the Gandhi bastion of Amethi in Uttar Pradesh but was defeated by BJP leader and Union Minister Smriti Irani by a margin of over 55,000 votes.

Minutes before taking oath, he tweeted: "Representing Wayanad, Kerala, I begin my new innings in Parliament by taking my oath this afternoon, affirming that I
will bear true faith and allegiance to the Constitution of India".

IMAGE: Congress MP Karti Chidambaram arrives at Parliament. Photograph: Shahbaz Khan/PTI Photo

Union Ministers Babul Supriyo and Debashree Choudhury, who are from West Bengal, were greeted by fellow BJP MPs with "Jai Shri Ram" slogans when they were called to take oath as Lok Sabha Members.

The cheer was apparently to take a dig at West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee who had allegedly objected to uttering the slogan during some incidents. When Union minister of state for environment and forest Supriyo was called to take oath, BJP members loudly cheered with "Jai Shri Ram".

IMAGE: BJP MPs Ravi Kishan and Manoj Tiwari flash the victory sign during the opening day of the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha at Parliament House. Photograph: Arun Sharma/PTI Photo

The slogan was repeatedly chanted when Choudhury, Union minister of state for women and child development, was called to take oath.

At least seven persons were detained on March 31 for chanting "Jai Shri Ram" slogan when Banerjee's motorcade passed through North 24 Parganas district of the state.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.