NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » AAP declares 3rd list of Lok Sabha candidates

AAP declares 3rd list of Lok Sabha candidates

March 01, 2014 17:08 IST

The Aam Aadmi Party on Saturday declared their third list of candidates for 20 Lok Sabha seats with prominent names being Savita Bhatti, wife of late comedian Jaspal Bhatti's, who has been given a ticket from Chandigarh, and Anand Kumar, a professor from JNU, from Delhi.

The party declared candidates for lone seat of Union Territory of Chandigarh, two from Delhi and Kerala, seven from Madhya Pradesh, seven from Odisha and one from Bihar. The third list has a doctor, actor, teacher, former diplomat, educationists and social activists.

In Delhi, the party has given ticket to Kumar, a JNU professor from North-east Delhi, a seat currently represented by former Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president Jai Prakash Agarwal.

From North West Delhi, the party has given candidature to social activist Mahender Singh. The seat is currently represented by Union Minister Krishna Tirath. The party is yet to declare candidates for two seats -- South Delhi and New Delhi.

From Kerala, the party has fielded former IPS officer Ajit Joy from Thiruvannanthapuram, a seat currently held by Union Minister and former UN Under-Secretary General Shashi Tharoor. Incidentally, Joy quit IPS to join the United Nations's Office on Drugs and Crime. He later quit UN to join AAP.

From Thrissur, a seat held by Joint Parliamentary Committee Chairman P C Chako, the party has given ticket to Sarah Joseph, a noted Malayali novelist.

In Madhya Pradesh, the party has nominated Rachna Dheengra from Bhopal. Dheengra has been associated with the party since its inception and has been working for the 1984 Bhopal gas tragedy victims. From Indore, former diplomat and IIM alumni Anil Trivedi will enter the electoral fray.

From Guna, a seat currently represented by Union Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, the party has fielded social activist Shailendra Singh Kushwaha; Atul Mishra, AAP's district convener, will contest from Sagar and Rajesh Sareram, a teacher by profession, from Betul.

Tata Institute of Social Science alumni Pankaj Singh will enter the electoral fray from Sidhi. From Hoshangabad, the party has nominated AAP worker Maya Vishwakarma

From Darbhanga, a seat currently held by former cricketer and BJP MP Kirti Azad, the party has nominated Prabhat Ranjan Das, a medic by profession who worked in the US before returning to India.

The party has declared candidates for seven seats in Odisha. From Bhubaneshwar, the party has nominated social activist Bismaya Mahapatra and Dhanada Kanta Mishra, an academician, from Berhampur seats.

From Cuttak, human rights activists and lawyer Bikash Das will enter the electoral fray while Jimuta Prasad Mishra, a researcher, will contest from Dhenkanal.

From Balasore, the party has fielded Janlokpal movement activist Mamata Kundu; Satya Mahar from Kalahandi, founder member of AAP in Odisha, will enter the electoral fray, while from Puri, the party has fielded Nirada Barana Khuntia, a former history lecturer.

The AAP has till now announced candidates for 70 seats across the country.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.