» Cricket » Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by four wickets

Zimbabwe beat Bangladesh by four wickets

Source: PTI
August 12, 2011 20:39 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Brian Vitori became the first Zimbabwean to take five wickets on his One-day International debut as the home side beat Bangladesh by four wickets in the first of five ODIs at Harare Sports Club.

After being put into bat, Bangladesh slumped to 43 for five as Vitori, who finished with five for 30 from his 10 overs, ripped through the top order.

A sixth wicket partnership of 105 between captain Shakib Al Hassan (53) and Mushfiqur Rahim (59) gave Bangladesh some hope but they were all out for 184 eight balls short of their 50 overs.

Zimbabwe lost captain Brendan Taylor in the fifth over but Vusi Sibanda struck a cultured 96 from 102 balls to take them to the brink of victory, Forster Mutizwa's unbeaten 27 taking them over the line with 8.4 overs to spare.

Rubel Hossain was the pick of the Bangladeshi bowlers with four for 26 from his 10 overs.

Zimbabwe won the one-off Test between the two sides by 130 runs on Monday.

M. Iqbal c Chigumbura b Vitori 4
I. Kayes lbw b Vitori 11
S. Nafeez b Vitori 14
M. Ashraful c Mpofu b Vitori 2
S. Al Hassan c Utseya b Masakadza 53
Mahmudullah c Masakadza b Chigumbura 5
M. Rahim c Masakadza b Utseya 59
Sohrawardi not out 20
A. Razzak c Taylor b Price 0
S. Islam c Sibanda b Vitori 8
R. Hossain run out 1
Extras (lb-3, w-4) 7
Total (all out for 48.4 overs) 184
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-28, 3-32, 4-33, 5-43, 6-148, 7-161, 8-162, 9-180
Bowling: Mpofu 8.4-2-20-0, Vitori 10-0-30-5, Chigumbura 7-0-33-1, Utseya 10-0-45-1, Price 10-0-44-1, Masakadza 3-0-9-1.

B Taylor b S Al Hassan 10
V Sibanda c Mahmudullah b R Hossain 96
H Masakadza run out 41
T Taibu b R Hossain 0
C Ervine c Rahim b R Hossain 0
F Mutizwa not out 27
E Chigumbura c Iqbal b R Hossain 3
P Utseya not out 0
Extras: (lb-2, w-7) 9
Total: (for 6 wkts in 41.2 overs) 186
Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-112, 3-124, 4-124, 5-175, 6-182
Bowling:  S Islam 2-0-13-0, R Hossain 10-1-26-4, A Razzak 7.2-1-40-0, S Al Hassan 10-0-48-1, Sohrawardi 8-0-38-0, Mahmudullah 4-1-19-0.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.