News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 9 years ago  » Cricket » ODI Rankings: Kohli at No 2, Bhuvneshwar moves up to 7th

ODI Rankings: Kohli at No 2, Bhuvneshwar moves up to 7th

Last updated on: November 24, 2014 14:57 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli . Photograph: PTI

Virat Kohli maintained second position in the latest ICC rankings for batsmen while medium pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar moved up a place to seventh in the bowlers' standings.

Australia topples India from number one ODI ranking

AB De Villiers strengthened his grip on the No 1 batting ranking by extending his lead over Kohli to 25 ratings points, with third-ranked Hashim Amla another 34 ratings points behind.

South Africa batsman Quinton de Kock, James Faulkner and Aaron Finch (both Australia) are the big gainers in the table.

De Kock’s 109 against Australia on Sunday, his sixth ODI century in 36 matches which later earned him the man of the match award, moved him to a career-high seventh position, a rise of two places.

Australia opener Aaron Finch, who finished as the third highest run-getter in the series behind AB de Villiers (271) and Steven Smith (254) with 250 runs that included scores of 109 and 76 in the third and fifth ODIs, vaulted six places to 15th.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Photograph: Anthony Au-Yeung/Getty Images

In the bowlers' rankings, suspended Pakistan spinner Saeed Ajmal holds the top spot ahead of West Indies leggie Sunil Narine and South Africa speedster Dale Steyn.

The in-form Sri Lanka skipper Angelo Mathews holds a nine-point lead at the top of the all-rounders rankings, with Indian Ravindra Jadeja maintaining fourth place.

Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan is the biggest mover, as he has rocketed 12 places to ninth spot. H is involved in his country’s five-ODI series against Bangladesh.

Reliance ICC ODI Player Rankings (as on 24 November, after Australia-South Africa series and ahead of Sri Lanka-England series):


1 AB de Villiers (SA) 887

2  Virat Kohli (Ind) 862

3  Hashim Amla (SA) 828

4 Shikhar Dhawan (Ind) 777

5 K. Sangakkara (SL) 776

6 George Bailey (Aus) 771

7 Quinton de Kock (SA) 749

8 Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind) 738

9 T. Dilshan (SL) 731

10 Angelo Mathews (SL) 706


1 Saeed Ajmal (Pak) 770

2 Sunil Narine (WI) 753

3 Dale Steyn (SA) 699

4 James Anderson (Eng) 690

5 M. Johnson (Aus) 680

6 M. Hafeez (Pak) 647

7 B. Kumar (Ind) 641

8 Steven Finn (Eng) 640

9 Ravindra Jadeja (Ind) 638

(+12) Shakib Al Hasan Ban 638 28.43 4.28 717 v Zim at Chittagong 2009

Selected Rankings

11 (-4) Morne Morkel (SA) 632

12 ( - ) James Tredwell (Eng) 629


1 Angelo Mathews (SL) 420

2 M. Hafeez (Pak) 411

3 Shakib Al Hasan (Ban) 389

4 Ravindra Jadeja Ind (336)

5 T. Dilshan (SL) 312

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

T20 World Cup

T20 World Cup