News APP

NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  gplay

This article was first published 3 years ago  » Cricket » Key moments in Mumbai Indians' IPL final triumph

Key moments in Mumbai Indians' IPL final triumph

Last updated on: November 11, 2020 00:52 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Trent Boult

IMAGE: Trent Boult celebrates after taking the wicket of Ajinkya Rahane, in the IPL final, in Dubai on Tuesday. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

Defending champions Mumbai Indians claimed their fifth Indian Premier League title after romping to a five-wicket victory over Delhi Capitals in Tuesday’s final in Dubai.

Mumbai’s bowlers, led by Trent Boult (3-30), laid the foundation for their comprehensive victory by restricting Delhi to a below-par 156-7.


Mumbai skipper Rohit Sharma smashed a breezy 68 and Ishan Kishan made 33 not out as they prevailed with eight balls to spare for their fourth win against Delhi this season.

IMAGE: Shikhar Dhawan is bowled by Jayant Yadav. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

Playing their maiden IPL final against the tournament’s most successful side, Delhi, coached by Australia great Ricky Ponting, needed a strong start but were reeling at 22-3 instead in the fourth over.

Boult dismissed the in-form Marcus Stoinis with the first delivery while Shikhar Dhawan, the other opener, lost his wicket to off-spinner Jayant Yadav attempting a slog-sweep.

IMAGE: Rishabh Pant and Shreyas Iyer run between the wickets. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

Skipper Shreyas Iyer (65 not out) and Rishabh Pant (56) steadied the innings but Delhi did not get a late flourish and settled for a score which Mumbai chased down easily.

Quinton de Kock fell for 20 and Suryakumar Yadav (19) sacrificed his wicket after a mix-up with Rohit but Mumbai were hardly tested in their chase.

IMAGE: Mumbai Indians opener Quinton de Kock bats. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

Rohit shrugged off the twin setbacks and smashed four sixes in his rollicking knock before holing out with victory in sight.

Delhi’s Kagiso Rabada finished as the IPL’s leading wicket-taker with 30 scalps, ahead of the Mumbai duo of Jasprit Bumrah (27) and Boult (25).

IMAGE: Rohit Sharma on the attack. Photograph: BCCI/IPL

This year’s IPL, originally scheduled to begin on March 29, was shifted to the United Arab Emirates following the COVID-19 outbreak in India.

"We know it's a difficult time, everyone is stuck at home," Bumrah said, putting things in perspective.

"We are lucky that we could come and entertain people. If we could bring smiles to their faces, it’s the best thing we could do."

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
© Copyright 2024 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.