NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Karnataka Premier League attracts 22 bidders

Karnataka Premier League attracts 22 bidders

August 05, 2009 21:11 IST

Karnataka Premier League, a Twenty20 tournament on the lines of the Indian Premier League, has attracted 22 bidders, sources in the Karnataka State Cricket Association said after sealed bids were opened on Wednesday.

"The winners will be declared tomorrow," a KSCA official said.

The minimum bid price for prospective franchises was set at Rs 20 lakh.

Of the ten zones up for grabs -- Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore, Dharwad, Raichur, Tumkur, Shimoga, Bellary, Gulbarga and Belgaum -- the eight which attract highest bids will compete in the event, to be staged at the M Chinnaswamy stadium.

Bangalore, Mysore, Mangalore and Bellary are believed to have attracted more and higher bids than some of the other zones.

The player auction is slated for August 14 and the tournament is scheduled from September 12 to 27.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.