» Cricket » IPL PHOTOS: Mumbai outclass Delhi to continue winning run

IPL PHOTOS: Mumbai outclass Delhi to continue winning run

Source: PTI
Last updated on: April 23, 2017 00:24 IST

Mitchell McClenaghan

IMAGE: Mitchell McClenaghan celebrates the wicket of Corey Anderson. Photograph: BCCI

Mitchell McClenaghan led Mumbai Indians's superb showing with the ball as they thrashed Delhi Daredevils by 14 runs to register their sixth successive victory, in the ongoing tenth edition of the Indian Premier League, in Mumbai, on Saturday.

Left-arm pacer McClenaghan claimed three for 24 as Delhi could only manage 128 for seven in their 20 overs in reply to Mumbai's 142 for eight.

IMAGE: Hardik Pandya, right, runs out Aditya Tare. Photograph: BCCI

The visitors were gasping at 24 for six at one stage before a 91-run stand between South African pair of debutant Kagiso Rabada (44) and Chris Morris (52) raised their hopes. However, it only reduced the margin of defeat.

Kiwi paceman Mitchell McClenaghan (3/24) scalped three batsmen to rock the Delhi top and middle order and Jasprit Bumrah (2/21) broke the seventh-wicket stand between the South Africans to shape his side's win.

IMAGE: Hardik Pandya celebrates with team mates after taking the wicket of Karun Nair. Photograph: BCCI

Leg-spinner Amit Mishra returned exceptional figures 4-0-18-2 while Australian paceman Pat Cummins (2/20) also chipped in with two wickets in Daredevils' good bowling show.

It was a collective bowling effort from Daredevils with Rabada (1/30) and skipper Zaheer Khan also contributing in choking the Mumbai line-up which is full of devastating batsmen.

However, the batsmen could not complement the good work done by the bowlers as the visitors suffered their fourth loss in six matches.

Delhi were off to a horror start as Aditya Tare was run out in the very first over before McClenaghan left Delhi in shambles with a three-wicket burst in the space of 16 deliveries.

Infact, the top six Delhi batsmen fell for single digit scores with three of them -- Tare, Corey Anderson and Rishabh Pant -- falling for ducks.

IMAGE: Mumbai Indians celebrate the wicket of Sanju Samson. Photograph: BCCI

Earlier, Delhi Daredevils showed why their attack is touted as the best in IPL 10 as they restricted Mumbai Indians, full of devastating batsmen, to a modest 142 for eight.

Daredevils bowlers dominated the proceedings from the word go after inviting the hosts to take first strike with leg-spinner Amit Mishra returning superb figures of 18 for two in four overs.

It was Hardik Pandya's 24 off 23 balls and West Indian Kieron Pollard's 26 off 29 balls that helped the home side to go beyond the 140 run mark after being reduced to 84 for five at one stage.

Chris Morris

IMAGE: Chris Morris celebrates after taking the wicket of Jos Buttler. Photograph: BCCI

Mumbai managed to score only 32 runs in the last five overs as Dardevils skipper Zaheer Khan made some good bowling changes.

Daredevils were also brilliant in the field as they managed to run out three Mumbai batsman including Hardik. For the visitors, Australian paceman Pat Cummins (2/20), South African Kagiso Rabada (1/30), who made his IPL debut, were impressive.

Openers Parthiv Patel and Jos Buttler stitched 37 for the first wicket in four overs. Buttler made his intentions clear as he hit a six off Chris Morris in the second over, followed by a boundary.

Buttler, the star of Mumbai’s game against Kings XI Punjab, got a life on 11 after being dropped by wicketkeeper Rishab Pant off the last ball of the second over. The Englishman then hammered Rabada for a maximum over the midwicket fence. However, in the same over, Rabada, clinched his first IPL wicket as he cleaned up Parthiv with a perfect yorker for eight.

Kagiso Rabada

IMAGE: Kagiso Rabada runs out Harbhajan Singh. Photograph: BCCI

Buttler struck Zaheer for two boundaries in the fifth over but the England batsman's stay at the crease was cut short by a brilliant throw by Sanju Samson, who came from short cover to hit the stumps as Mumbai slumped to 47 for two.

Buttler made 28 off 18 balls, hitting two sixes and three fours.

In the eight over, Cummins removed the in-form Nitish Rana (8) as he hit one straight into the hands of Corry Anderson at deep midwicket.

In the very next over, skipper Rohit Sharma (5) again fell to a leg spinner, this time Mishra as he was caught by Cummins at deep square leg.

In the 13th over, Mishra claimed his second wicket as he sent back Krunal Pandya for 17 as he edged to wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant.

Half of the Mumbai side was back to the pavilion on 84 before the 36-run sixth wicket partnership between Hardik and Pollard stabilised things a little bit as they also took the hosts past the 100-run mark.

Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.