» Cricket » India to play 3 Tests, 6 ODIs in South Africa

India to play 3 Tests, 6 ODIs in South Africa

September 21, 2017 09:30 IST

Virat Kohli

IMAGE: Virat Kohli with team-mates. Photograph: BCCI/Twitter

The Indian cricket team will play three Tests, six One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals against South Africa, starting January 5.

"India will play South Africa in a three-match 'Mahatma Gandhi-Nelson Mandela' Test series, six-match One-Day International series followed by three Twenty20 Internationals. The dates and venues for the fixtures will be confirmed shortly," read a statement from BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Chaudhary.


Originally, India was supposed to play four Test matches, but the home series against Sri Lanka series will end in the penultimate week of December.

It effectively means that Virat Kohli and his men won't be able to play either the 'Boxing Day' match on December 26 or the traditional New Year game that starts on January 2.

The Indian team has already asked for a practice period of 10 days which would include at least one, if not two, practice games to gear up for the bouncy conditions.

The tour has also been shortened as India, after the South Africa series, will be travelling to Sri Lanka for the Independents' Cup T20 tri-nation tournament.