NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » First session of Delhi assembly begins, trust vote on Thursday

First session of Delhi assembly begins, trust vote on Thursday

January 01, 2014 17:28 IST

The first session of the brand new Delhi assembly, during which newly-elected Members of Legislative Assembly took oath, will continue till January 7.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led government is expected to seek a vote of confidence on the floor of the House.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was the first to take oath followed by Manish Sisodia and his other ministerial colleagues. Senior Congress MLA Mateen Ahmad, who is the pro-tem speaker, administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly-elected MLAs.

The new AAP government will seek the trust vote on Thursday while election of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker will be held on January 3.

Lieutenant Governor Najeeb Jung will address the House on January 6. On January 7, a discussion on Jung's address will take place.

In the 70-member assembly, the AAP has 28 MLAs, eight short of a majority. The AAP has the support of 8 MLAs of Congress, which is expected to see the party across the half-way mark. The Bharatiya Janata Party has 31 members and its ally Akali Dal has one member.

The AAP had on Tuesday named first-time MLA M S Dhir as its candidate for Speaker's post.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal had on Tuesday announced the name of senior Congress MLA Mateen Ahmad as the pro-tem speaker. A pro-tem Speaker presides over proceedings related the the taking of oath by new members and other business till the election of the Speaker.

Senior BJP leader and MLA Jagdish Mukhi had earlier declined to be the pro-tem Speaker of the Delhi assembly.

Courtesy: Aam Aadmi Party/Facebook

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.