NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Curfew imposed in 10 areas in Kashmir Valley

Curfew imposed in 10 areas in Kashmir Valley

March 06, 2013 02:24 IST

Curfew was imposed on Tuesday night in 10 police station areas of KashmirValley as a precautionary measure with the authorities apprehending law and order problem following the killing of a youth in firing allegedly by security forces in Baramulla district.

Curfew has been imposed in Rainawari, Khanyar, Navhatta, Safar Kadal and Maharajganj police station areas of old city

Srinagar and Zadibal, Maisuma and Kalan Khaud in the new city, a police spokesperson said.

He said curfew has also been imposed in Baramulla and Sopore.

The decision to impose curfew was taken at a high level meeting of police officers following the death of Tahir Latief Sofi allegedly in an army firing in Baramulla district on Tuesday afternoon.


© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.