NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » Best MPs: Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav

Best MPs: Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav

Last updated on: March 06, 2013 20:17 IST

Senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader Arun Jaitley, Congress veteran Karan Singh and Janata Dal-United chief Sharad Yadav have been selected for the 'Outstanding Parliamentarian Award', it was officially announced on Wednesday.

Jaitley, who is Leader of the Opposition in Rajya Sabha, gets the award for the year 2010, Karan Singh for 2011 and Sharad Yadav for 2012.

Jaitley and Singh are members of the Upper House from Gujarat and Delhi, respectively, while Yadav is a Lok Sabha member from Madhepura, Bihar.

The Indian Parliamentary Group had instituted the award in 1994 which is conferred each year.

Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar had constituted an award committee to select the member for the award for the three years.

The executive committee of the group unanimously accepted the recommendation of the award committee. The awards will be conferred at a function later, the statement said.     The award is conferred each year on an outstanding parliamentarian recommended by the committee and approved by the executive committee of the IPG since 1995.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.