NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » 3rd Test: NZ elect to bowl

3rd Test: NZ elect to bowl

April 03, 2009 03:44 IST

New Zealand captain Daniel Vettori won the toss and elected to bowl in the third and final Test in Wellington, on Friday.

For India, captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who missed the last match due to injury, came back into the playing eleven to replace Dinesh Karthik.

The hosts made a couple of changes to their team bringing in Daniel Flynn and Tim Southee to replace Jamie How and Jeetan Patel respectively.

The pitch is expected to help the seamers in the first session and Vettori would be hoping that his bowlers can do the damage early on.

India, who lead the series 1-0, last won a series in New Zealand in 1967-68.


New Zealand: Daniel Vettori (captain), Tim McIntosh, Martin Guptill, Daniel Flynn, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, James Franklin, Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, Iain O'Brien, Chris Martin.

India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Ishant Sharma, Munaf Patel.