NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » Mumbai all out for 115

Mumbai all out for 115

December 17, 2006 19:31 IST

Debutant M P Arjun wrecked Mumbai's batting line-up with a four-wicket haul as Hyderabad bundled the visitors out for 115 in the first innings on the opening day of the four-day Elite Group 'B' Ranji Trophy match in Hyderabad on Sunday.

In reply, the hosts were at 66 for one at close.

Electing to bowl, the Hyderabad speedsters struck early, dismissing openers Vinayak Mane and S Maratha.

Arjun claimed his maiden first class wicket when his incoming delivery crashed into Maratha's stumps.

Skipper Amol Mazumdar tried to stabilise the innings, but young Absolem struck two vital blows, dismissing R Sharma (9) and Mazumdar (26) as Mumbai slumped to 48 for four.

R Thakkar tried to stick on but Arjun unsettled him and Shashank Nag took a good catch to dismiss him for a fighting 21 off the 81 balls he faced.

Arjun also accounted for Ramesh Powar and N Kulkarni, trapping them leg before and taking his tally to four for 21.

Absolem claimed three for 38, including the wicket of debutant K Wainganakar (0).

Only W Mota showed some resistance and was unbeaten on 18 as Mumbai folded for 115 in 60 overs.

After their good performance with the ball, the hosts gave a strong reply despite losing opener T Suman (6).

D B Ravi Teja (39) and Shashank Nag (14) were undefeated at stumps.

Mazumdar tried six bowlers but only S Hazare could break through while debutant Waingankar showed class. Test discard Ramesh Powar was impressive, giving away only 12 runs in eight overs.


Mumbai (1st innings):
VR Mane c I Khaleel b PK Reddy 0
S Maratha b Arjun 0
R Sharma c I Khaleel b Absolem 9
A Mazumdar c I Khaleel b Absolem 26
B J Thakkar c S Nag b Arjun 21
N S Shetty lbw b P Ojha 10
R R Powar lbw b Arjun 15
W A Mota not out 18
N M Kulkarni lbw b Arjun 0
K Waingankar c I Khaleel b Absolem 0
S P Hazare lbw b P Ojha 1
Extras: (b-6, lb-6, nb-3) 15
Total: (all out in 60 overs) 115

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-0, 3-26, 4-48, 5-67, 6-87, 7-98, 8-98, 9-115.

Bowling: P K Reddy 17-10-23-1, M P Arjun 16-8-21-4, A Absole 15-2-38-3, P Ojha 12-4-21-2.

Hyderabad (1st innings):
T S Suman c Mota b Hazare 6
D B Ravi Teja batting 39
P Shashank Nag batting 14
Extras: (lb-2, penalty-5) 7
Total: (for one wicket in 29 overs) 66

Fall of wicket: 1-20

Bowling: SP Hazare 7-1-19-1, K Waingankar 7-1-23-0, WA Mota 3-0-4-0, RR Powar 8-2-12-0, NM Kulkarni 3-3-0-0, BJ Thakkar 1-0-1-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.