NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » AP restrict Baroda to 216

AP restrict Baroda to 216

Last updated on: November 15, 2003 23:14 IST

Baroda were restricted to a modest 216 in their first innings on the opening day of the Ranji Trophy Elite Group 'A' cricket match against Andhra Pradesh at Vadodara on Saturday.

The highlight of the Baroda innings was an innings of 68 by Shatrunjay Gaekwad, son of former Test player and India coach Anshuman Gaekwad.

The young Gaekwad displayed an array of strokes in his 59 run seventh wicket partnership with Rajesh Pawar and 41 run eighth wicket stand with Irfan Pathan, Jr.

In reply, Andhra Pradesh were 13 for the loss of Amit Pathak's wicket at close of play. Pathak was trapped leg before by Irfan Pathan, Jr.

M Suresh was batting on eight and Faiz Ahmed on four.

Gaekwad played the anchor role to rescue Baroda after the home team had collapsed to 66 for 5 to the pace-spin combination of Kalyanakrishna and M N Vikram Verma.

Krishna produced a fine spell of fast bowling, scalping captain Jacob Martin, opener Connor Williams, and middle-order batsman Ajit Bhoite. He was complemented by spinner Verma, who also took three wickets.


Vadodara Ist innings:
C Williams c Prasad b Krishna               3
S Parab b Shahbuddin                       10
N Mongia lbw b ASK Verma                   31
J Martin lbw b Kalyan Krishna              15
T Arothe c Prasad b ASK Verma               0
S Gaekwad c Venugopalrao b Vikram Verma    68
A Bhoite lbw b Krishna                      7
R Pawar c Venugopalrao b Vikram Verma      21
I Pathan c ASK Verma B G Shankarrao        26
R Patel not out                            13
S Joshi b Vikram Verma                      0

Extras: (b-3, lb-6, nb-4, w-9)              22

Total: (all out in 87.3 overs)             216 

Fall of Wickets: 1/9, 2/21, 3/66, 4/66, 5/66, 6/92, 7/151, 8/192, 9/212.

Bowling: K S Shahabuddin 17-3-40-1, Kalyanakrishna 19-4-56-3, R V Ch Prasad 7-2-17-0, A S K Verma 6-1-21-2, M N Vikram Verma 16.3-5-38-3, Y Venugopalrao 17-5-19-0, G Shankarrao 5-0-16-1.

Andhra 1st innings
A Pathak lbw I Pathan Jr            1
M Suresh batting                    8
Fiaz Ahmed batting                  4

Total: (for 1 wicket in 6 overs)    13

Fall of wicket: 1-5.

Bowling: Rakesh Patel 2-0-10-0, Irfan Pathan Jr 3-1-3-1, Shekhar Joshi 1-1-0-0.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.