NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Cricket » North, South declared joint-winners of Duleep Trophy

North, South declared joint-winners of Duleep Trophy

Last updated on: October 21, 2013 19:58 IST

With unrelenting bad weather playing spoilsport, North Zone and South Zone were declared joint winners of the Duleep Trophy after the fifth day's play of the final was called off without a ball being bowled in Kochi, on Monday.

Only 10 overs -- on the second day on October 18 -- were possible in the five-day match as wet ground conditions at the Nehru Stadium due to persistent rain played spoilsport.

The city again experienced a morning shower and the umpires decided for a delayed start of the final day. The umpires inspected the ground at around 2:45pm IST and decided to call off the match.

It was the fourth instance in the history of Duleep Trophy when the title has been shared. Previous instances were West Zone/South Zone in 1963-64, North Zone/West Zone in 1988-89 and Central Zone/West Zone in 1997-98.

The tournament had been hit by bad weather as the winner of the first semi-final in Kochi was also decided by the toss of coin after wet outfield did not even allow for a first innings lead.

Photograph: Harish Kotian

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.