Rediff India Abroad
 Rediff India Abroad Home  |  All the sections


The Web

India Abroad

Sign up today!

Mobile Downloads
Text 67333
Article Tools
Email this article
Top emailed links
Print this article
Contact the editors
Discuss this Article
Home > Cricket > The Cup > PTI > Report

Twenty20: Mumbai whip Baroda

April 03, 2007 19:34 IST

Team India seamer Irfan Pathan came a cropper as Ranji champions Mumbai outplayed Baroda and won the opening Twenty20 West Zone Tournament match by eight wickets,  in Mumbai on Tuesday.

Pathan failed to make an impact with the new ball and ended up conceding 35 runs from his three overs.

The match turned out to be a lopsided affair after Baroda, put in to bat, put up an ordinary batting performance from which they never recovered.

Mumbai skipper Amol Muzumdar's decision to field first was justified after his bowlers dismissed Baroda for a paltry 107 in 18.1 overs.

Only opener Rishikesh Parab (38) batted with some authority against the disciplined Mumbai attack in which off-spinner Rohit Sharma emerged the most successful bowler, claiming three wickets.

Hampered by the early loss of captain Yusuf Pathan, Baroda never got going, unable to strike up any decent partnerships as Mumbai's spinners made life difficult for them.

Later, an unbeaten innings from Rohit Sharma (40) and Vinayak Mane (22), who combined for a 57-run third wicket stand, saw Mumbai easily through in the 17th over.

Mumbai collected four points from the match.


R Parab c Rahane b Kulkarni 38
Y Pathan c Nair b Khote 0
R Solanki run out 19
I Pathan lbw Sharma 9
P Shah c Salvi b Sharma 2
S Gaekwad st Samant b Nayar 1
K Panchal b Sharma 7
A Patel c Khote b Abdulla 20
M Vohara c Samant b Abdulla 7
R Pawar c Mane b Kulkarni 1
R Patel not out 1
Extras: (lb1, w1) 2
Total: (all out in 18.1 overs) 107

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-57, 3-67, 4-70, 5-70, 6-74, 7-80, 8-101, 9-104.

Bowling: A Salvi 3-0-11-0; M Khote 3-0-31-1; N Kulkarni 4-0-12-2; I Abdulla 3.1-0-19-2; R Sharma 3-0-15-3; A Nair 2-0-18-1.

A Rahane st Shah b Pawar 22
R Morris c Gaekwad b Patel 19
R Sharma not out 40
V Mane not out 22
Extras: (w5, lb1) 6
Total: (for 2 wickets in 16.1 overs) 109

Fall of wickets: 1-45, 2-52

Bowling: I Pathan 3-0-35-0, R Patel 3-0-10-1; M Vohara 3.1-0-23-0; R Pawar 4-0-18-1; Y Pathan 3-0-22-0.

Punjab register 12-run win over Haryana

Punjab successfully defended a modest total of 126 and handed Haryana a 12-run defeat in the North Zone Twenty20 at the Ferozshah Kotla.

Haryana were skittled out for 114 in 19.4 overs.

Electing to bat, Punjab had a good start courtesy Ravneet Ricky (12) and Karan Goel (15), who put up 22 runs on the board in the first three overs.

But Punjab were unsettled when Ricky and Goel were dismissed, leaving the side struggling at 41 for 4 at one stage.

Dinesh Mongia (28) and Ritender Sodhi (12) did the repair the innings in a 35-run partnership for the fifth wicket.

Fast bowler VRV Singh scored an unbeaten 22 to take Punjab's score past the hundred run mark.

Haryana were shaky from the start, with openers Sumit Sharma (12) and Sunny Singh (1) making a sedate start. None except skipper Joginder Sharma appeared in touch.

The first 10 overs fetched just 38 runs. It was the 11th over, bowled by Dinesh Mongia, that witnessed some fireworks. Sachin Rana (18) hit Mongia for a huge six and then for boundary.

In the next over, Ishan Malhotra dismissed Rana and Mahesh Rawat (12) with consecutive deliveries and Haryana were struggling 56 for five.

Sharma's quickfire 19 took Haryana closer to the victory target but Mongia dimissed him on his own bowling dashing Haryana hopes.

SSCB beat J&K

Hardeep Singh's quickfire fifty went in vain as Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) clinched a five-wicket win over Jammu and Kashmir in the third match of the North Zone Twenty20 cricket Tournament at the Palam ground in Delhi.

Chasing 144 to win, SSCB reached the target in the 20th over after recovering from initial setbacks.

Tahir Khan was the top scorer for SSCB with a patient 36-run knock, which came in 43 balls. Yashpal Singh (34) and skipper Sanjay Verma (33) also played out quick cameos as SSCB overhauled the JK total with ease.

Earlier, JK skipper Dhruv Mahajan won the toss and elected to bat only to squander a good start. The openers, Arshad Bhatt (33) and Tandev Singh Chauhan (24), put on a 41-run partnership before a mid-innings collapse left JK at 82 for four.

Hardeep then rebuilt the innings with a fifty, which was studded with five hits to the fence, but hardly got any support at the other end as JK folded up for 143.

Yashpal was the wrecker-in-chief for SSCB, claiming three wickets for 26 runs in four overs. Narender Kumar also grabbed a couple of scalps, conceding 38 runs.

SSCB's chase did not start very well as they lost two quick wickets with just 29 on board. However, the middle order chipped in with good contributions to see them through.

For JK, Samiullah Baig was the most successful bowler, claiming 2 for 30. Shashi Kumar and Sameer Khajuria took a wicket each.

The Cup: The Complete Coverage

Would you like to join the Cricket and Cricket Lovers Discussion Group and discuss your cricket views with other cricket freaks? Click here. Have fun!

© Copyright 2007 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.