» Sports » Wimbledon: Djokovic, Murray seeded for final showdown

Wimbledon: Djokovic, Murray seeded for final showdown

June 22, 2016 17:34 IST

Defending champion Serena Williams is the top seed in the women's draw.

The American will be looking to equal Steffi Graf's Open era record by sealing a 22nd Grand Slam triumph.

Andy Murray

IMAGE: Andy Murray of Great Britain with Novak Djokovic of Serbia. Photograph: Anja Niedringhaus/Getty Images.

Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray could meet in the final at Wimbledon after being named the top two seeds for the grass-court Grand Slam, which starts Monday.

World No. 1 Djokovic and second-ranked Murray can't meet until the final as they are placed at opposite ends in Friday's draw.

Djokovic is bidding to win Wimbledon for the fourth time and third straight year as he chases a rare calendar Grand Slam.

Murray is aiming to win his third Grand Slam title and his first since he beat Djokovic in the 2013 Wimbledon final to become the first British male singles champion at the All England Club for 77 years.

The Scot has lost 13 of his last 15 matches against Djokovic, including this year's Australian and French Open final, but won their last two meetings on grass and is in fine form after lifting the Queen's Club title for a record fifth time last week.

If the world's top two make the Wimbledon title match it would be a record-equalling eighth Grand Slam final between them.

Djokovic defeated Roger Federer in the last two Wimbledon finals. The Swiss legend is seeded third in his bid for a record eighth Wimbledon title.

Federer, a 17-time Grand Slam winner, hasn't won a major title since lifting the Wimbledon trophy in 2012 and has endured an injury-plagued year that saw him miss the French Open.

His compatriot Stan Wawrinka is seeded fourth and Japan's Kei Nishikori is the fifth seed.

World number 10 Richard Gasquet moved up to the seventh seeding after reaching the Wimbledon semi-finals last year, while 2014 US Open champion Marin Cilic is lifted from a world ranking of 13 to a seeding of ninth.

Defending champion Serena Williams is the top seed in the women's draw. The American will be looking to equal Steffi Graf's Open era record by sealing a 22nd Grand Slam triumph.

Williams, who has won Wimbledon six times, has failed at the last hurdle in her last two major tournaments, enduring surprise defeats at the Australian and French Open finals this year.

The world number one's conqueror at Roland Garros, Spain's Garbine Muguruza, is seeded second with Poland's Agnieszka Radwanska, the 2012 Wimbledon runner-up, named as the third seed.

Johanna Konta is the first British female to be seeded at Wimbledon since Jo Durie in 1984.

The 25-year-old's ranking has shot up from 146th to 18th and she was named as the 17th seed following her shock run to the Australian Open semi-finals in January.

Men's seeds:

 1 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)

 2 Andy Murray (Britain)

 3 Roger Federer (Switzerland)

 4 Stan Wawrinka (Switzerland)

 5 Kei Nishikori (Japan)

 6 Milos Raonic (Canada)

 7 Richard Gasquet (France)

 8 Dominic Thiem (Austria)

 9 Marin Cilic (Croatia)

10 Tomas Berdych (Czech Republic)

11 David Goffin (Belgium)

12 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (France)

13 David Ferrer (Spain)

14 Roberto Bautista Agut (Spain)

15 Nick Kyrgios (Australia)

16 Gilles Simon (France)

17 Gael Monfils (France)

18 John Isner (U.S.)

19 Bernard Tomic (Australia)

20 Kevin Anderson (South Africa)

21 Philipp Kohlschreiber (Germany)

22 Feliciano Lopez (Spain)

23 Ivo Karlovic (Croatia)

24 Alexander Zverev (Germany)

25 Viktor Troicki (Serbia)

26 Benoit Paire (France)

27 Jack Sock (US)

28 Sam Querrey (U.S.) 29 Pablo Cuevas (Uruguay)

30 Alexandr Dolgopolov (Ukraine)

31 Joao Sousa (Portugal) 32 Lucas Pouille (France)

Women's seeds:

1 Serena Williams (US)

2 Garbine Muguruza (Spain)

3 Agnieszka Radwanska (Poland)

4 Angelique Kerber (Germany)

5 Simona Halep (Romania)

6 Victoria Azarenka (Belarus)

7 Roberta Vinci (Italy)

8 Belinda Bencic (Switzerland)

9 Venus Williams (US)

10 Madison Keys (US)

11 Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic)

12 Timea Bacsinszky (Switzerland)

13 Carla Suarez Navarro (Spain)

14 Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia)

15 Samantha Stosur (Australia)

16 Karolina Pliskova (Czech Republic)

17 Johanna Konta (Britain)

18 Elina Svitolina (Ukraine)

19 Sloane Stephens (US)

20 Dominika Cibulkova (Slovakia)

21 Sara Errani (Italy)

22 Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova (Russia)

23 Jankovic Jelena (Serbia)

24 Ana Ivanovic (Serbia)

25 Barbora Strycova (Czech Republic)

26 Irina-Camelia Begu (Romania)

27 Kiki Bertens (Netherlands)

28 Coco Vandeweghe (US)

29 Lucie Safarova (Czech Republic)

30 Daria Kasatkina (Russia)

31 Caroline Garcia (France)

32 Kristina Mladenovic (France)