» Sports » Who will win WTA Player of the Year?

Who will win WTA Player of the Year?

Source: ANI
October 10, 2018 09:50 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Halep, Osaka in race for WTA Player of the Year

Simona Halep

IMAGE: Simona Halep won the French Open this year. Photograph: Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports via Reuters

World No 1 Simona Halep and US Open champion Japan's Naomi Osaka are among the players nominated for the Women's Tennis Association (WTA) Player of the Year award.

Spain's Garbine Muguruza, who had won the prize last year, failed to make it to the nominees' list this time.


Other nominees for the prize are Angelique Kerber (Germany), Petra Kvitova (Czech Republic and Caroline Wozniacki (Denmark).

American tennis ace Serena Williams has been nominated for the WTA Comeback Player of the Year award along with Belinda Bencic (Switzerland), Bethanie Mattek-Sands (USA), and Ajla Tomljanovic (Australia).

While nominees for the Most Improved Player of the Year award features Kiki Bertens (Netherland), Julia Goerges (Germany), Daria Kasatkina (Russia), Elise Mertens (Belgium), Wang Qiang (China), and Aliaksandra Sasnovich (Belarus), the contenders for WTA Newcomer of the Year award are Amanda Anisimova (USA), Danielle Collins (USA), Mihaela Buzarnescu (Romania), Sofia Kenin (USA), and Aryna Sabalenka (Belarus).

In the WTA Doubles Team of the Year award, the nominees are CoCo Vandeweghe and Ashleigh Barty (USA/Australia), Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova (Czech Republic), Elise Mertens and Demi Schuurs (Belarus/Netherland), and Kristina Mladenovic and Timea Babos (France/Hungary).

The winner of the awards will be declared on October 19.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: ANI

India tour of Australia 2020

India's tour of Australia 2020