» Sports » Sports Shorts: Srikanth, Sindhu approved for TOPS scheme

Sports Shorts: Srikanth, Sindhu approved for TOPS scheme

Last updated on: January 31, 2019 19:00 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Summary of sports events and persons who made news on Thursday

PV Sindhu

IMAGE: PV Sindhu will be one of the beneficiaries of the TOPS scheme. The Target Olympic Podium Scheme is a flagship programme of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to provide assistance to India's top athletes. Photograph: Lintao Zhang/Getty Images

The Sports Authority of India (SAI) has approved the names of 23 athletes, including shuttlers PV Sindhu and Kidambi Srikanth, from badminton, cycling, para-athletics and para-shooting fields, to be included in the flagship Target Olympic Podium Scheme (TOPS), ahead of the Tokyo 2020 Olympics, Paralympics and 2024 Olympics.

Some athletes have been included in the developmental group for Olympic 2024, and a watch-list was also announced from among athletes competing in badminton, para-athletics, para-shooting, para-swimming and para-power lifting.


Athletes who are in the watch-list will be considered for TOPS on the basis of their performance in the coming months.

The Target Olympic Podium Scheme is a flagship programme of the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to provide assistance to India's top athletes.

Players selected in the badminton category include Kidambi Srikanth (Men's Singles), Sameer Verma (Men's Singles), HS Prannoy (Men's Singles), PV Sindhu (Women's Singles), Saina Nehwal (Women's Singles), Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty (Men's Doubles), Ashwini Ponappa and Siki Reddy (Women's doubles) (Till World Championships) and Pranav Chopra and Siki Reddy (Mixed doubles) (Till World Championships).

In addition, Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy (Men's Doubles), Meghana Jakkampudi and Poorvisha Ram (Women's Doubles) have been kept on the watch list.

In cycling, players that are chosen for the scheme are Esow Alben, Ronaldo Singh, James Singh, and Rojit Singh (all team sprint).

For the four disciplines under Para-Sports that were reviewed, the Committee chose those athletes under the TOPS schemes who are considered the best medal contenders for the 2020 Tokyo Paralympics.

The selection criteria applied for Para-Athletics were the current world rankings of the athletes and their most recent scores that were being attained in comparison to global best standards.

Those selected include Varun Bhati (Men's High Jump T63 (42,63), Sharad Kumar (Men's High Jump T63 (42,63), Sandeep Chaudhary (Men's Javelin Throw F64 (42-44, 61-64), Sumit (Men's Javelin Throw F64 (42-44, 61-64), Sundar Singh Gurjar (Men's Javelin F46 (45-46), Rinku (Men's Javelin F46 (45-46), Amit Saroha (Men's Club Throw F51), Virender (Men's Shotput F57 (56-57) and  Jayanti Behera (Women's 400m T47 (45-47)

Those put on watchlist are Mariyappan Thangavelu, Deepa Malik, Devendra Jhajharia, Sandeep Singh Mann, Mithan, Aamit, Rampal Chahar, Dharambir, Ekta Bhyan, Karamjyoti Dalal, Radha and Rakshita.

In Para Shooting, the athletes included for the TOPS scheme are Manish Narwal and Singhraj (Both Men's 10m Air Pistol SH1 and Mixed 50m Pistol SH1), Deepender (Men's 10m Air Pistol SH1) and Avani Lekhara (Will be reviewed at World Championships).

In the watchlist, names like Rubina Francis, Pooja Aggarwal and Sonia Sharma are included.

While para powerlifting watchlist include Jaideep, Sachin Chaudhary, Manpreet Kaur, Rajinder Singh Rahelu, Sakina Khatun and Farman Basha, Para Swimming watchlist have names of Suyash Narayan Jadhav, Niranjan Mukundan, Swapnil Patil, Chetan Giridhar Raut, Shridhar Nagappa Malagi, Devanshi Satija, Kanchanmala Pande and Sharath Gayakwad.

Indian women's hockey team held 2-2 by Spain

The Indian women's hockey team squandered a two-goal advantage at the half-time to allow hosts Spain stage a superb fightback and earn a 2-2 draw in the fourth and final encounter, in Murcia, Spain.

Deep Grace Ekka (8th) and Navneet Kaur (26th) scored for India, while Lucia Jimenez (35th) and Clara Ycart (39th) sounded the board for the hosts.

With this draw, the two teams levelled the four-match series 1-1.

Spain had registered a narrow 3-2 win in the opening match with the second match ending in a 2-2 draw. India won the third match 5-2.

India will now face 2018 World Cup silver medallists Ireland on February 2.

India got off to a rollicking start as they caught the Spanish defence on the wrong foot. An infringement by a Spanish defender saw India being awarded a penalty stroke only minutes into the first quarter.

Though India missed scoring from this opportunity, Deep Grace Ekka made up for the missed chance with a well-converted penalty corner awarded in the 8th minute.

India's 1-0 lead doubled in the second quarter when their forwardline worked in tandem to penetrate into the striking circle with striker Navneet Kaur scoring a beautiful field goal off Rani's assist in the 26th minute.

At the second hooter, India had registered a comfortable 2-0 lead.

After the 10-minute halftime break, hosts Spain made a resolute comeback as they vied to overcome the initial setback. The Indian defence was put to the test when Lucia Jimenez scored a field goal in the 35th minute.

Pressure to defend their 2-1 lead saw India give away a penalty corner in the 39th minute. Clara Ycart was impeccable in her attempt to score as Spain levelled the score to 2-2.

The final quarter saw India up their ante in attack but a strong Spanish defence denied any opportunities inside the circle resulting in a draw.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Indian Premier League - 2021

Indian Premier League - 2021