NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Koevermans names probables for AFC Challenge cup

Koevermans names probables for AFC Challenge cup

February 08, 2013 16:02 IST

National football coach Wim Koevermans today named 30 probables for the preparatory camp for the AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers scheduled to be held in Myanmar capital of Yangon from March 2-6 with no major surprises in the list.

The camp will kick-off at the premises of Bharatiya Vidyapeeth in Pune from February 12.

Pune FC striker Jeje Lalpekhlua was named for the camp after being at sidelines for some time and East Bengal's Robin Singh also found place in the list.

Wim KovermanBoth were among standbye players in the squad for the international friendly played in Pune on Wednesday against Palestine which India lost 2-4.

United Sikkim defender Sandesh Jhingan, who is reported to have been shown interest by a Chinese club, made to his first India camp while East Bengal's Arnab Mondal also got the nod from the Dutch coach.

The team will leave the country in the last week of this month for AFC Challenge Cup Qualifiers. India play their first Group A match against Chinese Taipei on March 2 followed by matches against Guam and hosts Myanmar on March 4 and March 6 respectively.

Twenty countries have been divided into five groups of four with the quartet playing against each other in a one-round league in a centralised venue.

The five group winners and two best second-placed teams will join host nation Maldives at the 2014 AFC Challenge Cup finals.

Goalkeepers: Sandip Nandy, Subrata Pal, Subhasish Roychowdhury, Karanjit Singh
Defenders: Nirmal Chhetri, Syed Rahim Nabi, Denzil Franco, Gouramangi Singh, Arnab Mondal, Raju Gaikwad, Shouvik Ghosh, Gurjinder Kumar, Sandesh Jhingan
Midfielders: Lenny Rodrigues, Asif K, Lalkamal Bhowmick, Malswamatulunga, CK Vineet, Arata Izumi, Mehtab Hossain, Peter Carvalho, Clifford Miranda, Francis Fernandes, Alwyn George, Jewel Raja
Forwards: Sunil Chhetri, Robin Singh, Sushil Kumar Singh, Joaquim Abranches, Jeje Lalpekhlua.

© Copyright 2018 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.