NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Punjab Sind Bank win National hockey

Punjab Sind Bank win National hockey

Last updated on: November 03, 2006 18:58 IST

Punjab and Sind Bank retained the Rangaswamy Cup, the symbol of supremacy in the National Hockey Championship, after a 3-1 victory over Delhi in the final, at the Surjit Singh hockey stadium in Jalandhar on Friday.

The winners lead 2-0 at half-time, with goals from Rajwinder Singh and Parminder Singh in the 17th and 22nd minutes respectively.

The defending champions increased their lead through Kulwinder, who sounded the board in the 44th minute.

Bikas Toppo scored Delhi's lone goal in the 59th minute.

Earlier in the day, last year's runners-up Indian Oil Corporation beat Namdhari XI 7-2 to finish third.

Star-studded Indian Oil played a fluent game and scored through Olympian Prabhjot Singh (19th and 30th minutes), international Inderjit Singh Chadha (41st, 69th), Bikramjit Singh (55th, 62nd, both penalty-corners) and Bharat Chikra (52nd).

Namdharis reduced the margin through Sher Singh (32nd) and Gurpreet Singh.