» Sports » Bhutia in probables list for Indo-Pak football series

Bhutia in probables list for Indo-Pak football series

Source: PTI
July 20, 2011 15:44 IST
Get Rediff News into your Inbox:

Veteran striker Bhaichung Bhutia is set to make a return to the Indian football squad having been named among the 32 probables for the three-match series against arch-rivals Pakistan in England starting August 25.

The tour, which has been dubbed as 'Clash of the Titans -- India-Pakistan UK tour,' ends on September 11 with matches to be held in Manchester, Coventry and London.

Sources in the All India Football Federation said that the former skipper will play in England against Pakistan provided he is fully fit.

Players from India's probables listThe event had previously been postponed after the Indian home ministry refused to issue the NOC for the series.

Bhutia was earlier dropped from the list of 42 probables named for India's World Cup football qualifier against UAE on July 23 and July 28.

This is the first-time ever that India will be playing a three-match series against Pakistan in a neutral venue.

The last time the two nations were involved in a three-match series was in 2005 in Pakistan, which India won on goal-difference after the series was deadlocked 1-1.

The tour is being organised by TouchSky Sports (TSS), a FIFA and UEFA Licensed Match and Player Agency.

The first match will be played on August 25 in Manchester, followed by the second game in Coventry on September 3 before London hosts the final match on September 9.

The Probables:

Goalkeepers: Subrata Pal, Laxmikant Kattimani, Jagroop Singh, Ravi Kumar.

Defenders: Debabrata Roy, Raju Eknath Gaikwad, Deepak Devrani, Nirmal Chhetri, Arnab Mondal, R.Vishal Kumar, Abhishek Das, Lalrozama Fanai, Sabas Saleel, Gurjinder Kumar, Shouvik Ghosh.

Midfielders: Renedy Singh, Jewel Raja Sheikh, Shilton D'Silva, Gilbert Oliveira, Ongnam Milan Singh, Jibon Singh, Subodh Kumar, Lalrindika Ralte, Snehasish Chakraborthy, Anthony Barbosa, Zakir Mundampara.

Forwards: Bhaichung Bhutia, Sunil Chhetri, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Sabeeth CS, Bijendra Rai, Bineesh Balan.

Get Rediff News delivered into your Inbox.
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.