» Sports » Aquatic C'ship: Karnataka maintains pole position

Aquatic C'ship: Karnataka maintains pole position

Source: PTI
November 19, 2011 20:49 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Rehan Poncha helped Karnataka to retain the top position with 18 gold medals on the penultimate day of the 65th Senior National Aquatic Championship by winning his fifth gold.

Poncha finished top in the men's 200 metres individual medley timing 02:07:95 and then helped the Karnataka quartet set a national record in the 4X100 metres free style relay, clocking 03:34:55 and erasing their own previous timing of 03:37:63 set in 2009.

"I was not sure till three weeks ago whether to take part in the competition, but took a last minute decision after consulting my coach. I hope I get a sixth gold tomorrow," Poncha, who is aiming at a berth in the London Olympics, said.

Poncha's effort in the 200 metre individual medley was all the more satisfying as he pushed Olympic qualifier Sandeep Sejwal to the second position.

"It's not my main event, (yet) it's my best time," Sejwal said after settling behind Poncha for the silver.

Police team's Richa Mishra continued her winning spree as she collected her fifth gold as also her team's, winning the 200 metre individual medley, beating down a double challenge from Karnataka girls, Pooja R Alva and Bhoomi R Motwani to settle for silver and bronze medals respectively.

However, Mishra was well short of her own national record of 02:23:62 set last year in the event, and finished at 02:25:33.

Mishra's 2007 national record in the 1500 metres free style event was broken by Karnataka's Surabhi Tipre (17:46:38), erasing Mishra's earlier record of 18:00:64 set.

Karnataka's Rohit Havaldar (01:00:48) won the gold in the men's 100 metres backstroke, while Anshul Kothari romped home winner in the 50 metres men's free style clocking 00:24:08.

Arti Ghorpade (01:08:75) snatched the yellow metal in the women's100 metre backstroke, while Goa's Talasha Prabhu (00:27:52) clinched the women's 50 metre freestyle gold.

Karnataka women's quartet of Kshipra Mahajan, Pooja R Alva, T Sneha and Surabhi Tipre won the women's 4X400 metres freestyle relay gold clocking 04:08;96.

RSPB's Hrutika Shriman (212.15 points) set a national record in the women's spring board competition, beating her own record of 202.95 set in 2008.

T Hariprasad of RSPB won the men's spring board securing 286.95 points.

With 36 medals -- 18 gold, nine silver, nine bronze -- Karnataka tops the medal chart with the Police team way behind at 11 medals -- five gold, four silver and two bronze medals.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22