Home > Sports > Hockey > PTI > Report

Dilip Tirkey to lead hockey team for AAG

October 17, 2003 16:11 IST

Dependable defender Dilip Tirkey will lead the Indian hockey team in the inaugural Afro-Asian Games, starting in Hyderabad, on October 24.

Tirkey was the captain of the team before Dhanraj Pillay took over the reins early this year.

Drag flicker Len Aiyappa and Arjun Halappa made a comeback to the 16-man side while captain of the national under-21 team, Prabodh Tirkey was included following an impressive performance in the six-nation junior tournament at Poland.

Bharat Chetri was named the second custodian after Devesh Chauhan.

Pillay and seven members of the team which won its maiden Asia Cup title in Malaysia late last month have been "rested" by the IHF keeping an eye on important tournaments ahead.

The team: Dilip Tirkey (capt), Devesh Chauhan, Bharat Chetri, Kanwalpreet Singh, Harpal Singh, Bimal Lakra, Vikram Pillay, Ignace Tirkey, Prabodh Tirkey, Viren Rasquinha, Len Aiyappa, Gagan Ajit Singh, Deepak Thakur, Prabhjot Singh, Sandeep Michael, Arjun Halappa.

Article Tools

Email this Article

Printer-Friendly Format

Letter to the Editor

Related Stories

India, Pakistan in same group

Pakistan also rest seniors

People Who Read This Also Read

India toil for another day

Balaji unlucky to miss out

Rayudu to lead team to Pakistan

© Copyright 2003 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

Copyright © 2003 rediff.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved.