» News » Telangana MPs late for meet, Speaker walks out

Telangana MPs late for meet, Speaker walks out

By Onkar Singh
July 04, 2011 12:15 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
The much-awaited meeting between nine Congress members of Parliament from Telangana and Lok Sabha Speaker Miera Kumar could not take place, as the legislators ran late for the appointment.

Though the Speaker had reached her chamber in the Parliament house well before time, she left her chamber at 11:00 hours saying that the MPs "did not keep the appointment."   

Senior Congress MP K Keshav Rao was to lead the delegation comprising Poonam Prabhakar, G Sukhender Reddy, Dr Jagannadham, S Rajesh, Dr G Vivekanand, Balram Naik, Madhu Yaskhi Goud and K Rajagopal Reddy to hand over their resignation letters.

The MP's blamed that the Kumar's move was preplanned by the Congress high command, which has been trying to persuade them not to precipitate the crisis in the state. The MPs are protesting against failure of the central government to announce formation of Telengana by June 2011 as promised earlier.


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Onkar Singh in New Delhi
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus