» News » TDP to abstain from voting in Presidential election

TDP to abstain from voting in Presidential election

Source: PTI
July 17, 2012 22:00 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
The Telugu Desam has decided to abstain from voting in the July 19 Presidential election, a statement from party president N Chandrababu Naidu said on Tuesday night.

"The TDP has been fighting the anti-people policies of the Congress for three decades now. Extending support to Congress nominee Pranab Mukherjee is not acceptable," Naidu said.

Similarly, supporting the candidature of National Democratic
Alliance's P A Sangma, backed by the "communal" BJP, would also be inappropriate. "After lengthy deliberations on this in the party, we have decided to stay away from voting in the Presidential election," the former chief minister said.

The TDP has six MPs in Lok Sabha and five in Rajya Sabha.  It has 86 MLAs in AP but two of them have been siding with Kadapa MP and YSR Congress chief Y S Jaganmohan Reddy.


Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2022 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus