» News » Swaraj's sister, former Congmen in BJP list for Haryana polls

Swaraj's sister, former Congmen in BJP list for Haryana polls

Source: PTI
September 20, 2014 22:07 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Bharatiya Janata Party on Saturday night announced the 47 remaining candidates for Haryana assembly elections who include Union Minister Sushma Swaraj's younger sister Vandana Sharma and two former Congress MPs and a former minister in B S Hooda government in the state.

The BJP's Central Election Committee met in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and cleared the names of 47 nominees. With this, the party completed the choice of all its 90 candidates for the October 15 assembly elections in Haryana.

The party's CEC also declared four of its candidates for the assembly bypolls in Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland and Gujarat.

The party's CEC met under the chairmanship of BJP chief Amit Shah and was attended by other members including Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, Ananth Kumar and Thawarchand Gehlot and Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan who

was recently inducted into the panel.

Vandana Sharma has been fielded from Safidon constituency and former MPs Surender Barwala, who had recently quit INLD to join the party, is BJP candidate in Jind seat. 

Another former Congress MP Jitendra Malik has been fielded from Ganaur constituency.

Former State Minister Santosh Sarwan, who was in Congress and was part of Bhajan Lal government, has been fielded by BJP from Mulana (SC) seats.

BJP general secretary and CEC's secretary J P Nadda said the party has tried to give representation to all sections.

BJP leader and incharge of Haryana affairs Jagdish Mukhi said the party has fielded 15 women leaders, which is the highest by any party so far.

Party general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal, besides Shahnawaz Hussain and Haryana state leaders Rambilas Sharma, Anil Vig and Anil Jain and party's Haryana affairs in-charge Jagdish Mukhi and election in-charge in the state Kailash Vijayvargiya were also present. 

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.