» News » 7 Yeddyurappa loyalists quit Karnataka cabinet

7 Yeddyurappa loyalists quit Karnataka cabinet

By Vicky Nanjappa
May 12, 2012 22:50 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Stepping up pressure on Karnataka Chief Minister D Sadananda Gowda, seven ministers loyal to B S Yeddyurappa have quit the Karnataka cabinet.

The seven ministers said that they have decided to quit since the chief minister has lost confidence in them. They have also authorised Yeddyurappa to decide on their future course of action.

Those who quit include Shobha Karandlaje, Basavaraj Bommai, Umesh Katti, C M Udasi, V Somanna, M P Renukacharya and Murugesh Nirani. 

All seven of them submitted their resignations to Yeddyurappa. 

would depend on Yeddyurappa now whether to forward their resignations to the party president or not. Two more ministers are expected to quit by Sunday.
The ministers said it would not be right for them to stick on after being accused of anti-party activities. This move is, however, been seen as a pressure tactic by Yeddyurappa to ensure more cabinet berths for his loyalists. 

He is desperate for more hold on the government now after the Supreme Court on Friday ordered a CBI probe against him.
Chief Minister Sadananda Gowda has not reacted to the incident but consultations between Yeddyurappa and his loyalists will continue late into the night and even on Sunday.
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Vicky Nanjappa
The War Against Coronavirus

The War Against Coronavirus