NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » News » RS polls: Kanimozhi, Elangovan to fight it out for sixth seat

RS polls: Kanimozhi, Elangovan to fight it out for sixth seat

June 20, 2013 20:23 IST

Ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam's arch rival Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam and main opposition party in the state Assembly

Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam are finally set to fight it out to bag the sixth seat in the June 27 biennial elections for the Rajya Sabha from Tamil Nadu.

On the last day for withdrawal of nominations, seven candidates -- AIADMK's K R Arjunan, V Maithreyan, T Rathnavel, R Lakshmanan, Communist Party of India's D Raja, DMK's Kanimozhi and DMDK's A R Elangovan -- remained in the fray after Thangamuthu (AIADMK) withdrew from the contest in favour of the CPI nominee.

With the winning chances for AIADMK's four candidates being virtually confirmed, given the number of MLAs (151) the ruling party has in the Assembly, party chief Jayalalithaa's decision to back CPI's Raja gave him an edge over others for the fifth seat.

Communist Party of India-Marxist and All India Forward Bloc have declared their support to Raja.

DMK's sitting MP Kanimozhi, bidding for a second term and DMDK's Elangovan, who is aspiring to make his debut to the Upper House, are locked in a fierce battle of the ballot for the sixth seat.

DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi has been working to ensure his daughter's victory by seeking support of other parties, especially from the Congress, which has five members in the assembly.

DMK has succeeded in getting support of Manidhaneya Makkal Katchi and Pudhiya Thamizhagam, which have two MLAs each in the assembly, whereas DMDK has received any word of assurance from any party.

Interestingly, DMDK has also sought the support of the Congress, which has not declared its stand so far. The three-member Pattali Makkal Katchi would announce its decision after its executive council meeting on Friday.

Following is the party position in the assembly: AIADMK 151, DMDK 29, DMK 23, CPM 10, CPI 8, Congress 5, PMK 3, MMK 2, Puthiya Thamilagam 2, All India Forward Bloc 1.

© Copyright 2019 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.